Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

Tuesday, April 16, 2019 1:00 am

Cougars' Freeman tops area's All-State selections

JIM JOHNSON Associated Press

Area AP selections


High Honorable Mention: Frankie Davidson, Blackhawk Christian; Caleb Furst, Blackhawk Christian; Sydney Curry, Northrop; Ali Ali, East Noble; Ridley Zolman, Central Noble

Honorable Mention: Joel Knox, Angola; Dyer Ball, Angola; Connor Essegian, Central Noble; Jackson Paul, Churubusco; Hayden Jones, East Noble; Luke Goode, Homestead; Sawyer Stoltz, Huntington North; Hank Pulver, Huntington North; Zach Daugherty, Huntington North; Nolan Groninger, Warsaw


Second Team: Sydney Freeman, Central Noble

High Honorable Mention: Carissa Garcia, Concordia;

Sydney Graber, Homestead; Ayanna Patterson, Homestead; Grace Hunter, Bellmont; Meleah Leatherman, Central Noble

Honorable Mention: Hanna Knoll, Angola; Emme Boots, Bluffton; Bridgette Gray, Central Noble; Georgia Hanauer, Southern Wells; Lauren Burns, West Noble; Lilly Mast, West Noble; Madison Schermerhorn, West Noble

INDIANAPOLIS – Trayce Jackson-Davis couldn't win a state title. The individual awards are still coming.

The Center Grove star earned the most votes on this year's Associated Press All-State boys' basketball team, determined by Indiana sportswriters, broadcasters and coaches and announced Monday. Northwestern junior Madison Layden received the most votes on the girls' team.

Central Noble senior and Ball State recruit Sydney Freeman was named to the girls second team.

Jackson-Davis led Center Grove to a 21-9 record and a third straight sectional title and scored 34 points in the Trojans 67-61 semistate loss to Ben Davis.

The 6-foot-9 forward is headed to Indiana after shooting 61.7% from the field and averaging 22.0 points, 9.4 rebounds and 3.1 blocks per game.

He was a second-team choice last season and was recently named a McDonald's All-American and Indiana Gatorade Player of the Year. Jackson-Davis, a finalist for the state's Mr. Basketball award, would be the first Center Grove player ever to win the honor.

Jackson-Davis was joined on the first team by Isaiah Thompson, a Purdue recruit and a third-team selection last season; Brandon Newman of Valparaiso, a Purdue recruit; John-Michael Mulloy of Carmel, a Butler recruit, and Luke Bumbalough of New Castle, a Ball State recruit.

Second-team honorees were Alex Hemenway of Castle, a Clemson recruit, Armaan Franklin of Indianapolis Cathedral, an Indiana recruit, Dewand Jones of Ben Davis, who will play football at Ohio State, Cobie Barnes of Floyd Central, an Indiana State recruit, and Trey Galloway of Culver Academy.

Layden led Northwestern to back-to-back Class 3A state titles and played her junior season after committing to play at Purdue. She averaged 21.9 points, 6.7 assists, 5.1 steals and 4.8 rebounds a game, and is joined on the first team by teammate Kendal Bostic, a Michigan State recruit who was a third-team choice last season.

The pair teamed up to lead Northwestern to a 27-3 mark. Bostic averaged 18.7 points, 9.2 rebounds and 1.8 blocks this season and scored 25 points while tying the Class 3A state finals record with 15 rebounds in the Tigers' 69-31 win over Benton Central. Layden scored 19 points in the finals and went 10 of 12 from the free throw line to tie the Class 3A record for most free throws made and attempted.

Lilly Hatton of North Harrison, Jorie Allen of Bedford North Lawrence and Sydney Parrish of Hamilton Southeastern rounded out the first team. Allen is bound for Indiana next season.

The second team consisted of Freeman, Shaila Beeler of Warren Central, another Indiana recruit; sisters Emma Nolan and Sophia Nolan of Marquette Catholic; and Madison Jones of Western Boone.