The Journal Gazette
Thursday, January 21, 2021 1:00 am

China sanctions former officials

Associated Press

WASHINGTON – China imposed sanctions on nearly 30 former Trump administration officials moments after they left office on Wednesday.

In a statement released just minutes after President Joe Biden was inaugurated, Beijing slapped travel bans and business restrictions on Trump's secretary of state, Mike Pompeo, national security adviser Robert O'Brien and U.N. ambassador, Kelly Craft.

Others covered by the sanctions include Peter Navarro, David Stilwell, Alex Azar, John Bolton and Stephen Bannon. The sanctions are largely symbolic but underscore Beijing's antipathy toward a U.S. administration it regarded as hostile.

Sign up for our daily headlines newsletter

Top headlines are sent daily