The Journal Gazette
Wednesday, November 18, 2020 4:10 pm

No swearing-in ceremony this year

DAVE GONG | The Journal Gazette

A public swearing-in ceremony for newly elected Allen County officials will not take place this year.

The ceremony is traditionally held at the Allen County Courthouse on or around Dec. 31 in years when there was a November general election. However, as the coronavirus pandemic continues to worsen, county officials have decided to forego a public event this year.  

Rather than gathering at the courthouse, county officials elected in November must make their own arrangements to take the oath of office, a news release said Wednesday. 

Those elected in November include Circuit Court Judge Wendy Davis; Allen County Treasurer William Royce; Coroner Jon Brandenberger; Surveyor Jeff Sorg; County Commissioner Nelson Peters; and Allen County Councilmen Robert Armstrong, Ken Fries and Kyle Kerley.

Sign up for our daily headlines newsletter

Top headlines are sent daily