The Journal Gazette
Wednesday, November 18, 2020 11:30 am

Sources: ECHL's North Division opting out

JUSTIN A. COHN | The Journal Gazette

Multiple sources have told The Journal Gazette that the ECHL's North Division teams are opting out of the season and that players were informed of this Tuesday night.

The North Division is made up of Newfoundland, Reading, Adirondack, Maine, Brampton and Worcester. There have been multiple media reports that an announcement will be made at 2 p.m. today.

The Komets are still in wait-and-see mode, but given the uptick in COVID-19 cases in the Midwest, along with more stringent restrictions regarding public gatherings, it seems more and more unlikely that teams in the Central Division (Fort Wayne, Kalamazoo, Toledo, Cincinnati, Indy and Wheeling) will be able to play. 

I have yet to reach anyone with the Komets for comment on the day's events. 

The Komets have been targeting a Jan. 15 start to the season, whereas some teams plan to start Dec. 11, and they have until Nov. 30 to opt out. 

The North Division faced particular challenges because of the two Canadian teams, Newfoundland and Brampton, since border crossings would be near impossible amid the pandemic.

Sign up for our Komets newsletter

Newsletter is sent Friday and Monday