The Journal Gazette
Monday, August 05, 2019 8:20 am

Verbatim: Holcomb announces grants for enforcement at school-bus stops

Fort Wayne, Winona Lake police among recipients

The Journal Gazette

Gov. Eric J. Holcomb's office issued this news release today:

INDIANAPOLIS – Governor Eric J. Holcomb today announced grant funding for increased traffic enforcement at school-bus stops. About 230 Indiana police agencies receive federal grants for highly visible traffic enforcement including speeding, aggressive driving and school bus stop-arm violations. The Indiana Criminal Justice Institute is awarding approximately $380,000 to 39 agencies for overtime school-bus stop enforcement over the next two months.

“Indiana police officers will be enforcing increased fines and penalties for drivers who recklessly pass bus stops and drive aggressively,” Gov. Holcomb said. “This is one of many steps that Indiana is taking to protect the safety of school children as classes resume.”

Gov. Holcomb signed a new school-bus safety law that took effect July 1. State law requires a school bus to use flashing lights and extend its stop arm while loading and unloading students along a roadway. State law also requires drivers to stop while the arm is extended. On highways divided by a physical barrier or unimproved median, traffic traveling in the opposite direction as the school bus may proceed with due caution.

Law-enforcement agencies awarded additional grant funding are listed below in alphabetical order. Police agencies may apply for future traffic-enforcement grants, including school-bus stop enforcement grants, through Aug. 30 at

1. Avon Police: $7,812

2. Boone County Sheriff: $23,650

3. Brown County Sheriff: $10,000

4. Cedar Lake Police: $4,000

5. Connersville Police: $3,111

6. Chesterton Police: $12,000

7. Decatur County Sheriff: $3,000

8. Evansville-Vanderburgh School Corporation Police: $1,238

9. Fort Wayne Police: $49,975

10. Fulton County Sheriff: $2,500

11. Griffith Police: $5,000

12. Hamilton County Sheriff: $5,000

13. Hammond Police: $8,000

14. Hancock County Sheriff: $6,000

15. Hobart Police: $10,000

16. Howard County Sheriff: $3,000

17. Indianapolis Metropolitan Police: $44,000

18. Jackson County Sheriff: $39,680

19. La Porte Police: $3,000

20. Lowell Police: $4,000

21. Madison County Sheriff: $6,500

22. Marshall County Sheriff: 3,300

23. Merrillville Police: $6,000

24. Mishawaka Police: $25,000

25. Morgan County Sheriff: $10,000

26. Muncie Police: $6,000

27. New Castle Police: $5,500

28. Newburgh Police: $4,000

29. Paoli Police: $1,050

30. Peru Police: $7,936

31. Princeton Police: $4,000

32. Rockport Police: $4,713

33. Scott County Sheriff: $7,353

34. Sellersburg Police: $10,000

35. Seymour Police: $3,000

36. Tell City Police: $1,200

37. Tippecanoe County Sheriff: $15,750

38. Vigo County Sheriff: $9,120

39. Winona Lake Police: $8,000

Sign up for our daily headlines newsletter

Top headlines are sent daily

Share this article