Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

  • Courtesy Carroll High School English teacher Carrie Wisehart was nominated for the Teacher Honor Roll for her willingness to think outside the box to engage her students and for exemplifying her motto, “choose joy.”

  • Kisor

Monday, April 16, 2018 1:00 am

Teacher Honor Roll / Education Notebook

ASHLEY SLOBODA | The Journal Gazette

Carrie Wisehart

School: Carroll High School

Grade or subject teaching: 12th grade AP language and composition, dramatic literature; English Department chair

Education: Bachelor of Arts in English education and vocal performance; Master of Education in theater

Years teaching: 18

City born: Omaha, Nebraska

Current hometown: Fort Wayne

Family: Husband, Brady; daughter, Kayden

Last book read: “Educated: A Memoir” by Tara Westover

Favorite teacher: Roger Amm, choir teacher

Favorite class in school: English (of course!)

Favorite teaching memory: Every single day. I love everything about what I do.

Favorite extracurricular activity: Cycling, writing, speaking

What advice would you give to your students as they plan for their future? You can't choose what happens to you, but you can choose how you respond to it. Today is the best day ever – because if today were my last day, I would want it to be my best day – therefore, today is the best day ever. Choose it.

Recommended by: Tanya Pickett

Reason for recommendation: “Mrs. Wisehart is an amazing, passionate educator, always willing to think outside the box to truly engage her students in the curriculum they are studying. Mrs. Wisehart's motto is 'choose joy,' and she exemplifies that each and every day when she enters the classroom, spreading her joy of life and learning to all who enter her doors. Her passion for teenagers is evident. We are blessed to have her on staff at Carroll High School.” 


• The Canterbury School Spring Book Fair is set for 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Tuesday through Thursday at Canterbury Lower School, 5601 Covington Road. It is open to the public and will feature a lineup of guests, including authors. Proceeds benefit Canterbury School Libraries.

• Manchester University will host a panel discussion titled “Sex & Politics: You be the Judge” at 3:30 p.m. Tuesday in Cordier Auditorium on the North Manchester campus. It is free and open to the public.

• The Trine University chapter of the Society of Women Engineers will host “Introduction to Engineering Day” from 1 to 4 p.m. Saturday for kindergartners to eighth-graders. Activities are free and will be held in Fawick Hall Room 119 on the Angola campus. Students should arrive at least 10 minutes early to register. Contact Andrea Mitofsky at for more information.

Scholarships, recognitions

• The following students were among nine Student of Integrity Scholarship recipients: April Neuenschwander of Bluffton High School; Cole Koenig of Woodlan Junior-Senior High School; Nickolas Balsiger of Huntington University; Shannon Lee of Manchester University; Lisbeth Nelson of University of Saint Francis; and Laura Polvado of IPFW. The one-time $2,000 scholarships were awarded by the Better Business Bureau's Charitable and Educational Foundation. Students will be recognized at the April 26 Torch Awards for Ethics Recognition Luncheon at Parkview Mirro Center for Research and Innovation.

• Phi Theta Kappa, an honor society for students at associate degree-granting colleges, named Trine as its only Indiana institution on its annual list of top four-year colleges and universities creating dynamic pathways to support transfer students. Transfer Honor Roll colleges will be recognized this week at the organization's annual convention in Kansas City, Missouri.

• The American College of Clinical Pharmacology selected David Kisor to receive the ACCP Excellence in Achievement award for his engagement and contributions to the national organization. The Fort Wayne resident is professor and director of pharmacogenomics education at Manchester University.

• The following students served as Indiana Senate pages in February and March: Hannah Durnell of Canterbury Middle School; Kathleen Ellingson of Carroll High School; Ari Fair, a home-schooled student from Roanoke; Dorothy Javins of Bishop Luers High School; Morgan Lamon, Derek Mast and Philip Waldorf of Homestead High School; Izabelle Sallee, a home-schooled student from Fort Wayne; and Mary Yankowiak of St. Therese School.

Alexis Morales and Cameron Owens, of Indiana Tech's National Society for Black Engineers debate team, earned national championship honors at the organization's annual convention in Pittsburgh.

• The Indiana Tech Cyber Warriors cyber defense team won the Erich J. Spengler Midwest Regional Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition, earning a berth in the national finals. Team members are Ethan Anderson, Matt Billeck, Aaron Blackman, Tony Burkhart, Chandler Dodenhoff, Rob Dukarski, Alex Knipper, Matt Kowal, James Swank and Adam Swanson. They are led by faculty adviser Matt Hansen and assistant coach Ian Springer.

Brett Batson, professor in Trine's Wade Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, received the Distinguished Faculty Award from the university's Christian Campus House.

• Trine has established a $500 activity award, renewable each year for up to four years, for students who earn the Governor's Work Ethic Certificate. It will be offered beginning in fall 2018. The certificate recognizes Indiana students who have developed employability skills that will assist them in meeting college and career goals.


• Officials with Trine University and the University of Toledo signed an agreement establishing a 3+3 pathway to a Juris Doctor degree for Trine students. It allows Trine students to complete the degree in six years of combined undergraduate and graduate work, rather than the traditional seven. Trine also recently announced a similar law degree pact with Cleveland-Marshall College of Law at Cleveland State University.

Saint Francis

• The University of Saint Francis announced new partnerships with Manchester University for pre-professional students. In the field of pharmacy, Saint Francis students pursuing the associate of pre-pharmacy chemistry degree will have two seats reserved for each annual cohort entering the Doctor of Pharmacy Program at Manchester. In the field of pharmacogenomics, Saint Francis bachelor degree science students will have four seats reserved for each annual cohort entering the Master of Science in Pharmacogenomics program at Manchester.

Through a partnership between Saint Francis and the Bowen Center, graduate students enrolled in the clinical mental health counseling program will complete their practicum in mental health counseling at Bowen Center beginning this fall.

Students and parents who have a favorite teacher can nominate the individual for Teacher Honor Roll. Send nominations to The Journal Gazette, 600 W. Main St., Fort Wayne, IN 46802; fax 461-8893 or email

To submit an item, send a typed release from the school or organization to Education Notebook, The Journal Gazette, 600 W. Main St., Fort Wayne, IN 46802; fax 461-8893 or email at least two weeks before the desired publication date.