Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

  • Courtesy An artist’s rendering shows what the renovated and expanded New Haven High School will look like when completed by the start of the 2019-20 school year. The East Allen County Schools board last week approved a construction contract totaling $29.2 million.

Monday, July 17, 2017 1:10 am

'Redoing everything' at New Haven High

Education Notebook

The New Haven High School that the community has known for 40 years is about to change.

The East Allen County Schools board last week approved a $29.2 million contract with Hagerman Construction for the expansion and renovation of the school, 1300 Green Road. It has not undergone any such projects since it was built in 1977, Chief Financial Officer Kirby Stahly said.

“It’s a complete update of the entire building,” he said. “We’re essentially redoing everything.”

Improvements include a secure entrance, the addition of an auxiliary gym on the west side and the addition of a two-story seventh- and eighth-grade wing on the east side, he said.

New Haven High currently teaches freshmen through seniors.

The project is part of the $87.5 million building program that proceeded without a public referendum last November.

EACS received four bids for the project, which was preliminarily budgeted for $29.6 million, Stahly said. Hagerman’s accepted bid was $29,233,900.

“That’s a nice amount,” Stahly said of the savings.

Construction will start as soon as possible with a target completion date by the start of the 2019-20 school year, he said.

Work on the additions will begin first, he said. As those are completed, he said, students will move to the new areas so existing classrooms can be renovated. 

Grants, scholarships

• The Pet Care Trust’s Pets in the Classroom grant program, which has previously been available to prekindergarten through eighth-grade teachers, will expand its reach to ninth-grade teachers beginning Aug. 1. The program benefits educators who want to introduce a pet in their classroom or who already have a classroom pet by providing funding toward a small animal or pet supplies. Past recipients can apply for a grant, which provides up to $50 to maintain a classroom pet. Visit for information.

• Questa has announced the first wave of scholars accepted in its Traditional Scholar Program for the 2017-18 year. They include MaKenzie Barger of Adams County; Trevor Szelis of Huntington County; Ethan Bassett, Ashley Crager and Devin Teders of DeKalb County; and Morgan Bales, Kaitlyn McCloughan and Crystal Van Houten of Whitley County. The Allen County recipients were Priscilla Baltazard, Catherine Birch, Kristen Borntreger, Jordan Bridges, Demetria Chery, Jacob Claycomb, Eduardo Cruz, Taylor Davis, Rozlynn Everhart, Carly Geier, Alyssa Grimm, Natalie Grose, Victoria Grose, Logan Haiflich, Noah Hardesty, Veronica Hare, Anika Hoffer, Mackenzie Joefreda, Joshua Kelly, Alexander King, Lindley Kistler, Kristin Lytal, Daymon Marlowe, Matthew Miller, Raj Patel, Joshua Poole, Autumn Quinn, Luis Rodriguez Perez, Nicole Rothgeb, Logan Sagsetter, Benjamin Sendo, Emma Shockley, Caitline Southern, Alyssa Vance, Naomi Vanderleest, Adam Veeley and Katherine Watson. Visit or call 260-407-6494 for more information.

Nathan Grabner of Fort Wayne received the 2017-18 Purdue President’s Council 40th Anniversary Scholarship. He is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in marketing with a concentration in finance.


• Two East Allen County Schools principals have been selected for the Indiana Principal Leadership Institute at Indiana State University’s Bayh College of Education: Chad Houser of New Haven Middle School and Diamond Robinson of Southwick Elementary. The two-year program is designed to address the professional needs of Indiana public school principals with an emphasis on student success. Visit for more information.

Ivy Tech

The Ivy Tech Foundation has ranked as the top fundraiser among community college systems nationwide for eight consecutive years, according to a survey conducted by the Council for Aid to Education. The 2016 Voluntary Support for Education survey reported Ivy Tech raised more than $18.6 million through the Ivy Tech Foundation, the college’s fundraising arm, ranking it first among U.S. community colleges. The amount raised exceeds the second place community college by 47 percent.

Ivy Tech’s Wabash site received a $35,138 grant from the Pauline J. Barker Educational Trust. It will fund labs for health care, information technology networking and industrial technology. This is the fifth year the college has received funds from this trust, used to promote industrial skills training.

Saint Francis

• The University of Saint Francis received confirmation from the Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs that the proposed nurse anesthesia program has received initial accreditation for the maximum allowable period of five years. The first cohort of 14 Doctor of Nursing Practice students start in August. Applications for the second student cohort, which begins August 2018, are being accepted. For more information, contact program director Marquessa Fisher at Applications also are being accepted for a second DNP track option for MSN-prepared nurses who want to pursue a DNP degree. The first cohort will begin August 2018. Contact program director Dr. Wendy Clark at for more information.

Indiana Wesleyan

Matt Lucas has been named the next chancellor of Indiana Wesleyan University-National and Global Campus, which oversees all non-residential services at the school. He will succeed Audrey Hahn, who in March announced she would retire by the end of 2017. Lucas will begin his duties as chancellor-elect beginning Aug. 28 and will assume full responsibility as chancellor Oct. 1.


IPFW will hold Enrollment Express Days July 26 and July 27 with appointments available between 9 and 11 a.m. in the Office of Admissions in the Walb Student Union, room 121. Enrollment Express is held in conjunction with Advising and Registration days. Potential students will be able to do everything from learning whether they are accepted to meeting with academic advisers in the same day. Visit to register and to submit an online application, which must be submitted 72 hours in advance to be considered. Contact Kenneth Christmon, associate vice chancellor of admissions, at 260-481-6812 or for more information.

Students and parents who have a favorite teacher can nominate the individual for Teacher Honor Roll. Send nominations to The Journal Gazette, 600 W. Main St., Fort Wayne, IN 46802; fax 461-8893 or email

To submit an item, send a typed release from the school or organization to Education Notebook, The Journal Gazette, 600 W. Main St., Fort Wayne, IN 46802; fax 461-8893 or email at least two weeks before the desired publication date.