Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

  • FILE: Cedarville Elementary student Aubrey Mahoney works on an assignment during class. The school earned a Four Star distinction from the state.

Tuesday, May 16, 2017 1:00 am

EACS school lone county Four Star

ASHLEY SLOBODA | The Journal Gazette

Compared with the previous year, drastically fewer Hoosier schools earned the distinction of being a 2015-16 Four Star School, but one in Allen County made the cut – Cedarville Elementary.

The East Allen County school joins Saint Bernard Elementary School in Wabash as the only northeast Indiana schools to receive the designation from the Indiana Department of Education.

“Receiving designation as a Four Star School signifies a pursuit of academic excellence among both the students and the administration,” Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction Jennifer McCormick said in a statement upon announcing the 2015-16 recipients.

“I am honored to recognize these Four Star Schools and their leadership for their hard work and dedication to preparing their students for a bright and prosperous future.”

Forty-one schools received the award statewide, including several in In­di­anapo­lis and its suburbs.

The previous year honored 287 schools, including 22 in northeast Indiana and at least one from each Allen County district.

Education department spokeswoman Molly Deuberry explained why fewer schools were recognized.

“IDOE cleaned up the formula used to calculate Four Star School designation and tightened the criteria, resulting in a decrease in the number of schools receiving the designation,” she said in a statement.

Four Star Schools received an A on the state's A-F accountability system and met other metrics involving ISTEP+ scores, graduation rates and success in closing achievement gaps.

Go to to learn more about how the eligibility criteria changed.

The Four Star School designation was created in 1988.