You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • Komets’ newcomer shakes off rust
    During the first weekend of the Komets’ season, forward Matthew Pistilli had two goals, three points and a plus-3 rating in two games.
  • Komets’ forward has goals organized
    Amid the franchise-record 12 trades the Komets made during the up-and-down 2013-14 season, a gem was found in the form of forward Mike Embach.
  • Schrock gets 2nd goal as Komets win
      Komets captain Lincoln Kaleigh Schrock scored five times last year, through the course of 68 games. But in the first two games of this season, he’s found the back of the net twice.And the Komets have won twice.

Komets put 19 on final roster

Only 8 can be reserved with offers by July 1

– The Komets submitted their season-ending roster of 19 players to the ECHL on Monday. They will be able to reserve the rights to a maximum of eight players from that list by extending them qualifying offers by July 1.

The Komets were permitted to submit a list of up to 20 players, but they chose only to do so with goaltenders Ben Meisner and John Muse; defensemen Simon Danis-Pepin, Mathew Maione, Joe Hartman, Jace Coyle and William Lacasse; and forwards Matt Carter, Scott Fleming, Brandon Marino, Mike Embach, Sy Nutkevitch, Aaron Clarke, Christian Ouellet, Chris Auger, Drew Daniels, Lincoln Kaleigh Schrock, David Rutherford and Dean Ouellet.

Only players who were on ECHL contracts – not those sent down from the NHL or American Hockey League – were eligible. That eliminated goalie Andrey Makarov and forward Shawn Szydlowski from consideration. Jordon Southorn and Steven Summerhays weren’t eligible because of previous agreements with the Komets.

The Komets will not have to extend qualifying offers to players signed between now and July 1. The Komets have yet to sign any players.

Of those who do get qualifying offers, only four can be veterans of 260 games played prior to the 2013-14 season.

By extending a qualifying offer, the Komets retain exclusive rights to the player until Aug. 1, after which non-veterans’ rights are kept for one season and veterans become restricted free agents.

The Komets, who reached the Eastern Conference semifinals before losing to Cincinnati in six games, have already lost some players they put on their season-ending roster. Marino, the ECHL’s leading scorer last season and a two-time team MVP, signed a contract to play in Europe. So, too, have Auger, Carter and Dean Ouellet.

It doesn’t mean they couldn’t return at some point this season.

Last year, the Komets put only nine players on the season-ending roster.

Of them, only Marino, Schrock, Auger, Jeremy Gates and John Dunbar played for the Komets.