You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Ice Chips

  • Some updates for you
    I don't have anything new to report on the alleged merger between the ECHL and CHL -- wouldn't it actually be an absorption of the CHL?
  • 18 Komets road games on TV this season
    Eighteen Komets road games this season will be broadcast live on MyTV Fort Wayne. Play-by-play duties will be handled by 21 Alive’s Tommy Schoegler and Kent Hormann.
  • Komets sign three players
    The Komets added goaltender Eric Levine, forward Nicola Levesque and defenseman Paul Arnott to their roster Tuesday, giving them 24 players so far for the upcoming season.

K's roster moves

The Komets submitted their season-ending roster of 19 players to the ECHL on Monday. They will be able to reserve the rights to a maximum of eight players from that list by extending them qualifying offers by July 1.

The Komets were permitted to submit a list of up to 20 players, but they chose only to do so with goaltenders Ben Meisner and John Muse; defensemen Simon Danis-Pepin, Mathew Maione, Joe Hartman, Jace Coyle and William Lacasse; and forwards Matt Carter, Scott Fleming, Brandon Marino, Mike Embach, Sy Nutkevitch, Aaron Clarke, Christian Ouellet, Chris Auger, Drew Daniels, Lincoln Kaleigh Schrock, David Rutherford and Dean Ouellet.

Only players who were on ECHL contracts – not those sent down from the NHL or American Hockey League – were eligible. That eliminated goalie Andrey Makarov and forward Shawn Szydlowski from consideration. Jordon Southorn and Steven Summerhays weren’t eligible because of previous agreements with the Komets.

The Komets will not have to extend qualifying offers to players signed between now and July 1. The Komets have yet to sign any players.

Of those who do get qualifying offers, only four can be veterans of 260 games played prior to the 2013-14 season.

By extending a qualifying offer, the Komets retain exclusive rights to the player until Aug. 1, after which non-veterans’ rights are kept for one season and veterans become restricted free agents.

The Komets, who reached the Eastern Conference semifinals before losing to Cincinnati in six games, have already lost some players they put on their season-ending roster. Marino, the ECHL’s leading scorer last season and a two-time team MVP, signed a contract to play in Europe. So, too, have Auger, Carter and Dean Ouellet.

It doesn’t mean they couldn’t return at some point this season.

Last year, the Komets put only nine players on the season-ending roster. Of them, only Marino, Schrock, Auger, Jeremy Gates and John Dunbar played for the Komets.

Justin A. Cohn, pro sports coordinator for The Journal Gazette, has been covering the Fort Wayne Komets since 1997. His reporting includes game stories from home and away, features about the players and personalities associated with the Komets, plus coverage of issues affecting hockey at all levels. A native of Bloomfield Hills, Mich., Cohn graduated from Emory University in Atlanta. He can be reached at 260-461-8429 or by email at