Political Notebook


Lugar to receive Medal of Freedom on Nov. 20

Former U.S. Sen. Richard Lugar of Indiana will be presented the Presidential Medal of Freedom by President Barack Obama on Nov. 20, the White House has announced.

Lugar is among 16 recipients of the nation’s highest civilian honor. This year’s recipients were announced Aug. 8 and include former President Bill Clinton, media magnate Oprah Winfrey, country music singer Loretta Lynn, baseball great Ernie Banks and former University of North Carolina basketball coach Dean Smith.

The White House said details on the awards ceremony will be announced later.

Lugar, a Republican from Indianapolis, was in the Senate for 36 years, where he became a leader on foreign policy. He and former Democratic Sen. Sam Nunn of Georgia authored 1991 legislation that has dismantled thousands of nuclear, chemical and biological weapons in the former Soviet Union.