Political Notebook

  • Donnelly stumping for Democratic candidates
    Sen. Joe Donnelly in recent days endorsed David Kolbe in Indiana House District 22, traveled to Iowa to stump for U.S. Senate candidate Bruce Braley and joined state House District 81 candidate Thad Gerardot for a campaign appearance in downtown
  • Coats, Donnelly donate to campaigns
    Neither of Indiana’s U.S. senators is on the election ballot this year, but that hasn’t stopped them from dipping into their campaign war chests.
  • Boland pledges to donate salary to community
    If elected, Democratic State Treasurer candidate Mike Boland would donate his salary to the community.
Cathie Rowand | The Journal Gazette
GOP Chairman Tim Berry visits with Allen County Superior Court Judge Wendy Davis at a reception before the annual Republican Party's Bean Dinner on Tuesday.

Races are taking shape for Allen County GOP primary

FORT WAYNE – A highlight of the Allen County Republican Party’s annual Bean Dinner is when candidates for the next primary election introduce themselves to the audience.

Their intentions could change before filing deadlines in February, of course. But if the pronouncements made Tuesday night pan out, Republicans will have contested primaries for at least three seats in the Indiana General Assembly.

Liz Brown, a former member of the Fort Wayne City Council, and Allen County Councilman Darren Vogt announced plans at the dinner at Ceruti’s Summit Park to seek the Senate District 15 seat of retiring Sen. Thomas Wyss, R-Fort Wayne.

Rep. Casey Cox said he will run in House District 85. Cox recently won a GOP caucus to fill the term of veteran Rep. Phyllis Pond, R-New Haven, who died Sept. 22.

Two people whom Cox defeated in the caucus vote – Dave Heine and Denny Worman – announced their candidacies Tuesday for Cox’s seat in the May 6 primary election.

Michael Barranda repeated his July announcement to run in House District 84 against Rep. Bob Morris.

Two people confirmed their candidacies for Allen County sheriff to succeed term-limited incumbent Ken Fries: Chief Deputy Dave Gladieux and Indiana State Police Sgt. Luke NaThalang.

Also at the dinner were two Republicans seeking the nomination for state treasurer: Marion Mayor Wayne Seybold and Don Bates of Winchester. Bates ran for the U.S. Senate in 2010 and for the U.S. House in 2012.

A treasurer candidate will be nominated in June at the GOP state convention in Fort Wayne. Republican incumbent Richard Mourdock is term-limited.