You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Mad Ants NBADL

  • Mad Ants affiliates up to baker’s dozen
    The D-League is moving toward a system in which there’s one team for every NBA team. But not all the NBA teams are yet interested in running a D-League team or even regularly sending players down.

Mad Ants release 2013-14 slate

– The Mad Ants will tip off their seventh season in the NBA Development League at 8 p.m. Nov. 22, when they travel to Frisco, Texas, to play the Texas Legends.

The Mad Ants’ home opener will take place at 7:30 p.m. Nov. 29, a Friday night, when they play host to the Maine Red Claws at Memorial Coliseum.

The Mad Ants-Legends contest is the first of 50 regular-season games for the Mad Ants. The schedule includes 24 home games, 17 of which are weekend games.

The NBA D-League Showcase will again take place Jan. 5-9 in Reno, Nev. The D-League All-Star Game will be Feb. 15 in New Orleans.

The 17-team D-League will feature three divisions – East, West and Central – for the 2013-14 season.

The East Division will consist of the Mad Ants, Canton Charge, the expansion Delaware 87ers, Erie BayHawks, Maine Red Claws and Springfield Armor.

The Central Division consists of the Iowa Energy, Sioux Falls Skyforce, Tulsa 66ers, Austin Toros, Texas Legends and Rio Grande Valley Vipers.

The West Division is made up of the Idaho Stampede, Reno Bighorns, Bakersfield Jam, Los Angeles D-Fenders and Santa Cruz Warriors.

The league’s upcoming 13th season includes an all-time high 14 D-League teams having single-affiliation relationships with their NBA parent clubs.

“We’re excited to get the 13th NBA D-League season underway with an action-packed opening weekend filled with 15 games over three days,” D-League president Dan Reed said in a statement.

“Not only are we thrilled to welcome the Delaware 87ers as our 17th team, but we’re pleased that they join 13 other NBA D-League teams to be singly affiliated with their NBA parent clubs.”

Of the 14 D-League teams that have single affiliations, six are fully owned and operated by their NBA parent club – Austin (Spurs), Canton (Cavaliers), Delaware (76ers), Los Angeles (Lakers), Tulsa (Thunder) and Santa Cruz (Warriors).

Seven teams have a hybrid relationship with their NBA parent club – Erie (Knicks), Idaho (Trail Blazers), Maine (Celtics), Rio Grande Valley (Rockets), Sioux Falls (Heat), Springfield (Nets) and Reno (Kings).

The hybrid partnership gives an NBA team control of the D-League team’s basketball operations while local ownership retains control of the business. Texas has a one-to-one relationship with the Mavericks.

The Mad Ants are affiliated with six NBA teams – Pacers, Pistons, Bucks, Bobcats, Grizzlies and Magic.

Two other D-League teams have five NBA parent clubs – Bakersfield (Hawks, Clippers, Suns, Raptors and Jazz); and Iowa (Bulls, Nuggets, Timberwolves, Pelicans and Wizards).