You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Full Count

  • TinCaps' comeback falls short
    The TinCaps lost for the ninth time in the last 13 games, falling 8-7 to the Lake County Captains at Classic Park in Eastlake, Ohio, tonight.
  • TinCaps Notebook: Fried undergoes surgery
    Max Fried went from being on top of the world as perhaps the Padres’ best pitching prospect to now facing back-to-back lost seasons.
  • Homer-happy TinCaps silence Loons
    Fernando Perez hit two of the TinCaps' four home runs and Kyle Lloyd pitched a gem as they crushed Great Lakes 10-0 on Wednesday night at Parkview Field to win two out of three games in the series.

For starters

The scheduled starters are Zach Eflin for Fort Wayne and Edgar De La Rosa for the Whitecaps. Game time is scheduled for for a 7:10 first pitch. Due to high school football airing on the TinCaps' flagship station, The Fan 1380, tonight's game will air on WOWO 1190 AM/92.3 FM and on

Extra bases

  • Fort Wayne is 3-8 at Fifth Third Ballpark this season and 6-12 against the Whitecaps in 2013
  • The TinCaps won the East Division’s first half wild card to secure a spot in the playoffs, while the Whitecaps were eliminated from postseason contention Thursday with Great Lakes’ win.
  • In his first 14 games with the TinCaps, San Diego’s 1st-Round pick from June, Hunter Renfroe, is batting .212 (.281 OBP & .365 SLG) with 1 HR and 5 RBI.