You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Business People

  • Business people
    Northeast Indiana educator Özlem H. Ersin was elected to the governing council of the American Public Health Association. John C. Reimbold, Terry L. Anderson and Tyler W.
  • Business people
    Sweetwater recently hired three nationally known music professionals: producer and keyboard player Phil Naish; drummer and vocalist Nick D’Virgilio; and guitarist Don Carr. Ken W.
  • Business people
    Asher Agency hired Beth Chester as a staff accountant; Tina French and Mary Modezjewski, media processors; Laura Lichauer, account coordinator; and Jenny Murphy, account executive.

Business people

McClure- Johnson

Fort Wayne Master Trooper Dan Taylor, a 33-year veteran of the Indiana State Police, retired.

Noreen Henriquez of Fort Wayne graduated from the Indiana University Police Academy and is assigned to IU’s Bloomington campus police department.

The 2013 River Friendly Farmer Recipients are Martin Rediger, Rediger Farms Inc.; Ned Byer, Byer Farm Service; Gordon and Jeff Smiley, Smiley Brothers; James Laux; Andy Schemenaur; Dewayne Mishler, Mishler Family Farm; Tyson Franks, Moody and Crew LLC; Gary Treska, Treska Farms; Jim Cormany; Jim Cormany Farms; and Kevin Jagger, Jagger Farms.

The boards of directors of Passages Inc. and the Whitley Crossings Neighborhood Corp., Columbia City, promoted Dave Lehman to chief operating officer of Passages. Lehman will also serve as executive director of Whitley Crossings Neighborhood Corp. Jason Meyer was hired as president and CEO for both Passages and Whitley Crossings Neighborhood Corp. Meyer will assume the position Monday. Tom O’Neill’s tenure as the current president and CEO will end on Sept. 30.

Michelle Chambers, founder and president of Signing Closers LLC, will have an open house to celebrate its expansion and one-year anniversary of operating locally from 5:30 to 8 p.m. Sept. 26 in the Courtside Building at 803 S. Calhoun St. Everyone is invited.

Mike Ott joined Star Financial Bank as an agricultural lending officer.

Stacey Fett and Tamara Shears of Fort Wayne have become independent consultants with Tastefully Simple Inc.

Kathleen M. Anderson, Dennis C. Becker, D. Randall Brown, Stephen L. Fink, Bobby B. Gillenwater and William T. Hopkins Jr. of Barnes & Thornburg LLP were selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America 2014.

Bryan Stavitzke was promoted to shop manager at the Executive Barber Shop PNC Bank Building in downtown Fort Wayne.

Dr. Walt Mueller, teacher and leader in the youth culture, joined the graduate youth ministry leadership faculty at Huntington University.

Beth Clark was hired by Labov Marketing Communications and Training as an account manager.

Laura Becker was hired by City Automall’s Columbia City dealership.

Attorneys from Faegre Baker Daniels LLP were recently selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America 2014. They are J. Stephen Bennett, Jon A. Bomberger, John R. Burns III, Steven H. Hazelrigg, David P. Irmscher, Steven L. Jackson, Michael L. James, David J. Kuker, Michael J. Nader, N. Reed Silliman; and Timothy J. Haffner, who was also named Fort Wayne’s Lawyer of the Year in Corporate Law.

Chris Kinter was promoted to assistant clinical director for Home Nursing Services, Kendra McClure-Johnson was hired as client services coordinator and Kathy Vaughn as RN case manager.

Kim Miller joined RE/MAX Results as a real estate associate.

The Northeast Indiana Association of Health Underwriters elected the following officers to its board of directors for 2013-14: Jody Kinsey, Wells Fargo Insurance Services, president; Mike Ripley, Old National Insurance, past president; Cindy K. Trahin, Trahin Insurance Services LLC, president elect/vice president; Crystal Michel, Med Partners, secretary; and Rita Musser, Senior Insurance Solutions, treasurer. Additional committee chairs include Greg Roebel, Old National Insurance, legislation chair; Justin Finton, AFLAC, membership chair; and Kathy Goffer, The HSA Authority/Tower Bank, membership retention chair.

Nick Staker of Academy Mortgage completed a mortgage insurance and decisioning training course.

8/20 Inc. hired Linda Dafforn, shipping; Dillon Henschen, value add department; and George Kaplanis, extrusion processing.

Greg Barnes, a model shop technician with PHD in Fort Wayne and Mike DeCamp, assembler, are celebrating their 25th employment anniversary today; and Anna Specht, a creative services project coordinator, will celebrate her 25th employment anniversary Saturday.

Gary Alexander joined MagniFI as a project manager.

Mark W. Baeverstad, F. L. Dennis Logan and Mark A. Warsco from Rothberg Logan & Warsco were selected for inclusion in the 2014 publication of The Best Lawyers in America. Warsco was also a recent guest speaker at the Allen County Bar Association.

Haley Baker joined Hallmark Home Mortgage as a marketing coordinator.

Gilmore S. Haynie Jr. of Hawk, Haynie, Kammeyer & Chickedantz LLP received the “Top Lawyers in Indiana: Highest in Ethical Standards & Professional Excellence” award for 2013 from The Legal Network.