You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Mastodon tracks


Tennis teams earn honors

The IPFW men's and women's teams were recently honored by Intercollegiate Tennis Association for their academic work.

Eight IPFW men's tennis players, Gerard Guell, Tim Saltys, Derek Romer, Jeremy DePree, Martin Muadi, Jonathan Raa, Alfonso Costas and Joao Freitas earned individual ITA honors, while the team was also honored.

Also, the IPFW women's tennis team, along with players Anita Henestrosa, Caterina Kiefer, Marcy Huck and Theresa Neumeyr earned academic honors from the ITA as a team and individually.

Both teams were named an All-Academic Team, which is for a program that has a cumulative team grade-point average of 3.20 or higher.

In order to earn ITA scholar-athlete status, a player must meet the following criteria: 1. be a varsity letter winner, 2. have a grade point average of at least 3.50 for the current academic year, and 3. have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters, including freshman through senior year.