You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • No child players left behind
    The poor little guy, in his Wildcat League T-shirt and large red helmet while gripping the white aluminum bat, can’t seem to hit the baseball, no matter how gingerly coach Alyssa Ringswald lobs it across the plate.
  • Programs abound for kids
    It has been hard to miss some exciting soccer lately – that heart-stopping 86th-minute headed-in goal by 21-year-old sub John Brooks that helped the U.S.
  • Maintaining fertility
    For women today, a yearly check-up with your healthcare provider is an essential part of maintaining your fertility health at every age.

People and places


John Kesson, a member of the Fort Wayne Gardeners of America, received the silver medal award at the Gardeners of America/Men’s Garden Club of America at its national convention in June.


•The R. Nelson Snider High School class of 1973 reunion will be Aug. 17 at Hotel Fort Wayne on West Washington Center Road. Cocktails begin at 6:30 p.m. with dinner at 7:30 p.m. Cost is $70. For information, call Jim Larimore at 317-697-2710.

Bishop Luers High School class of 1968 will have its reunion from 6 p.m. to midnight Sept. 7 at Don Hall’s Guesthouse, 1313 W. Washington Center Road. Cost is $35 a person. For information, call 747-9251 or 447-6800.

Board elected

•The Young Leaders of Northeast Indiana appointed the following people to its new board of directors: San Graves, president; Stephanie Veit, vice president; Amy Shurley, secretary; Dave Wagley, treasurer; Pone Vongphachanh, Justin Shurley, Melissa Beber, Grant Daily, Kim Carpenter, Tom Boyer, Nick Medhikhan, Jake Pickett, Ashely Smith, Lisa Updike, Adam Neumann and Dana Raby.

•The History Center named the following people to its board: Richard Ferguson, Kevin Huebschman, Craig Keoun, John Stafford, Harry Tunnell, Brian White, Dana Wichern, Al Zacher, Alan Grinsfelder, president; Orrin Sessions, vice president; Evan Hyndman, treasurer; and Patricia Opie Parker, secretary.

•The Fort Wayne Children’s Choir named the following people to its board of directors: Jeff Gery, president; Debbie Powers, vice president; Ingrid Laidroo-Martin, secretary; Jenny Lemon, treasurer; John Foxworthy, Jeff Fritz, George Guido, Charley Hire, Michelle Merritt, Carrie Minnich, Barbara Resch, Justin Shurley and Tony Strickler.

•The Fort Wayne Center for Learning elected the following board members: Deb Overcash, president; Tiffany Berry, vice president of finance; Sara Schneider, vice president of governance; Jan Patterson, secretary; Jennifer Jo Brown, Mary Ann Flueckiger, Kenn Kunze, Jane Leatherman, Bob Nicholson, Dennis Rohrs and Donna Yngstrom.

•The Anthony Wayne Rotary Club named its new board of directors: Bryan Sharp, president; Carol Keplar, president-elect; Fred Haigh, vice president; Amber Recker, past president; Larry McChessney, secretary; and Troy Heisler, treasurer; Paul Bouza, Deb Conklin, Lynette Fager, Sarah Horacek, Pam Joachim, Robert Moore, Brian Pickering, Dr. Mark Stetzel, Jeff Walls and John Waszak.