You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Irish Insights


Catching up

After a little more than two weeks away, I've returned from vacation.

And what better way to get back in the swing of things than to catch up on the watch lists that came out during my time away.

Here are the Notre Dame players that landed spots on the watch lists for college football awards.

  • Maxwell Award (player of the year): Nose guard Louis Nix III, Defensive end Stephon Tuitt
  • Bednarik Award (defensive player of the year: Nix, Tuitt, linebacker Prince Shembo, cornerback Bennett Jackson
  • Mackey Award (most outstanding tight end): Ben Koyack, Troy Niklas
  • Lou Groza Award (top place kicker): Kyle Brindza
  • Bronko Nagurski Trophy (most outstanding defensive player): Nix, Tuitt
  • Outland Trophy (most outstanding interior lineman): Nix, offensive tackle Zack Martin
  • Butkus Award (most outstanding linebacker): Carlo Calabrese, Dan Fox, Shembo
  • Lombardi Award (lineman of the year): Martin, Nix, Shembo, Tuitt
  • Biletnikoff Award (most outstanding receiver): TJ Jones, DaVaris Daniels
For complete watch lists for awards, click here