You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Motor Racing

  • Late sprint gets Harvick 1st Cup title
    Kevin Harvick charged through the field, picking off car after car, passing two other title contenders on a series of restarts.
  • Elliott celebrates Nationwide title at Homestead
    HOMESTEAD, Fla. — Chase Elliott could let Matt Kenseth take a spin with the checkered flag. Even without the win, Elliott had a championship celebration waiting for him in Victory Lane.
  • Sprint Cup crown down to final race
    There was pushing, punching, one ambush in a darkened garage and a bloody brawl. There were thousands of hours spent analyzing the path to the Sprint Cup title as teams tried to adapt to NASCAR’s new championship format.

2 drivers dominating racing at Baer Field

There will be at least one first tonight at Baer Field Speedway.

And, if form holds, quite a lot of nonfirsts.

The first is Baer Field’s first-ever Bud Light $1 Beer Night, which will coincide with a five-division Super Show on the 3/8 -mile oval.

The nonfirsts, if form holds, will be the continued dominance of Dave Bice, Brian Janes and the Coe Motorsports team.

Midway through the season, Bice has won three straight street stock features, while Janes has won all four front-wheel drive features contested this season. Coe Motorsports, meanwhile, has won three of the four Fantastic Sam’s Modified features.

Only the late models have been wide open, with Oliver Fitzwater, Tommy Cook, Neal Richardson and John Gatton Jr. winning the four features.

Gatton owns a 57-point lead over Al Cook Jr. and a 61-point lead over Tommy Cook in the late model points.

Ryan McIntyre leads Jan Long by 46 points in the street stocks, with Zack Vandall third.

Rookie Keith Barker Jr. leads the Afdent Mini-Stocks over defending champion Kevin Dibble and Zac Sipe.

Janes holds a commanding 115-point lead over Bob Masters in the front-wheel drive points, followed by Shawn Poffenberger, Derrick Poppe, Ryan Spillers, Matt Janes, R.J. Weick, Kenny Spillers, Jacob Bradley, Cesar Guzman Jr. and Josh Miller.

Gates open at 2 p.m. today with qualifying at 5:30 and racing at 7:30. Adult admission is $12, and kids 12 and under get in free.

Short-track drag racing is on the schedule for Sunday, with gates opening at 2:30 p.m., practice runs at 3:30 and drag racing at 5. Admission is $5.