JG logo

People and places

Giving back

Rudae’s School of Beauty Culture, 5317 Coldwater Road, will have a charity cut-a-thon from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. Thursday. The money raised will be donated to Love and Scissors, a Costa Rican organization that provides cosmetology training to young women.

•The Freedom Ride June 27 at Ehlerding Motorsports and Ehlerding’s River City Harley-Davidson raised $679 for Men at War charitable program.


Kohl’s department stores recognized through its Kohl’s Cares Scholarship Program the following area youth for their community volunteer work: Mary Cerajewski, Madeline Crook, Kathleen Donias, Sadie Gerber and Jeremiah Tyra, all of Fort Wayne; Sara Budde of Decatur; and Sara Mosley of Albion.

Breinne Mudrack of Fort Wayne and Cody Wood of Woodburn were named 4-H top achievers for this year’s Allen County Fair. Honor achievers are Travis Crowe of New Haven, Grant Hood of Hoagland, Lane Lewis and Erin Ryan, both of Fort Wayne, Bethany Malcolm of Butler and Courteney McLemore of Monroeville.

Julia Kuhn of Fort Wayne was elected to the 2014 state 4-H Junior Leader Council. Kuhn is a member of the Eel River 4-H Club.


Bishop Luers class of 1973 will have its reunion Aug. 3 at the Fort Wayne Country Club. For information, contact John Cheri “Dyk” Disser at cheri. disser@kendallelectric.com or 760-9944 or Janny Colone VanHorn at jcv41@comcast.net.

Bishop Luers class of 1978 will have its reunion Aug. 3. For information, contact Joe DeWald at joe.dewald@lpl.com.

Board elected

Turnstone elected the following officers and board of directors for its 2013-14 fiscal year: Kelly Clevenger, chairman; Richard Fox, vice chairman; Jerry Witte, treasurer; Barney Niezer, assistant treasurer, Jane Swiss, secretary; Al Moll, David Fee and Randy Outman.

•The Community Foundation of Greater Fort Wayne elected the following officers and board of directors for the 2013-14 term: Jane M. Gerardot, president; Christine Rupp, vice president; Thomas B. Trent, secretary; Shannon H. Hardiek, treasurer; Michael Barranda, Trois Hart, Bruce K. Menshy and Greg Johnson.

Elizabeth Bechdol of Auburn and Larry Rowland of Fort Wayne were elected to the Indiana Humanities board of directors.

© Copyright 2014 The Journal Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.