You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Business People

  • Business people
    Capt. Geneori Hogan, a 17-year veteran of the Fort Wayne Fire Department, was recently sworn in as district chief of information & technology. Scott Heim joined F.
  • Business people
    Fort Wayne Meijer pharmacist Jeremy Thain was recently honored with the Joseph E. McSoley Pharmacist of the Year award by the Indiana Pharmacists Alliance.
  • Business people
    Tamela Zollinger and Donzionetta Pegues were hired in the maintenance department of 80/20 Inc., and Adam Bridges, James Fisher and Scott Roberts joined the extrusion processing team.

Business people


Jared Duymovic joined Embassy Theatre as programming director, and Jeremy (Jake) Brames is the Embassy’s finance director.

Glenn Bogan of Star Bank has been promoted to vice president, electronic banking.

Erika Halliwill has been appointed to vice president for PNC Wealth Management in Fort Wayne.

Drivers representing FedEx Freight placed among the top finishers at the recent 2013 Michigan State Truck Driving Championship in Lansing. Rick Bailey of Warren is a three-time state champ after winning the three-axle class, and Jim Fisher of Fremont finished second in the flatbed class.

Michelle Smekens with Hallmark Home Mortgage was the top producing loan originator for May, and Chris Smith made the most gains from April to May.

Leadership Fort Wayne recently celebrated the graduation of 37 community leaders from its community leadership program. They are Christopher Angellatta, chief operating officer, YMCA of Greater Fort Wayne; Eric Barie, director of regional marketing, Frontier Communications; Nora Bass, vice president, surgery and trauma, Parkview Health; Josiah Brown, assistant director employer services, IPFW Career Services; Ramona Coleman, coordinator of professional development, Fort Wayne Community Schools; William Davenport, commercial account executive; Old National Insurance; Dottie Davis, deputy chief, director of training, Fort Wayne Police Department; Stephen Franks, chief marketing officer, Vertical Leap LLC; Kimberly Fuhrmann, marketing and administrative manager; Fort Wayne-Allen County Airport Authority; Gilda Chan, senior merchandise planner, Vera Bradley; Marci Hamilton, chief nursing officer, Orthopedic Hospital of Lutheran Health Network; Lindsay Hanas, senior IT business analyst, Vera Bradley; Nick Harmon, director, Jack Laurie Group; Ciera Houle, nitinol process engineer, Fort Wayne Metals; Brenda Houtz, supervisor, Indiana Michigan Power; Kari Huston, vice president and director of client community relations, PNC Bank; Jason Jolicoeur, dean, school of public and social services and school of education, Ivy Tech Community College; Nicole King, office manager, Family Quest Inc.; Albert Kohout, principal/owner, Galecki Financial Management; Timothy Kuhnen, vice president, business relations manager, Tower Bank; Rich Lynch, retail marketing director, Do it Best Corp.; Cathy Maxwell, vice chancellor, academic affairs, Ivy Tech Community College; Alan Nauts, department chair, art and communication, University of Saint Francis; Kevin Neebes, specialty investment manager, Ambassador Enterprises; Kirk Rodgers, contracts manager, Raytheon; Kim Sabrosky, community relations manager, Indiana Michigan Power; Christy Sandmaier, director of administration, Fort Wayne Ballet; Beth Schrader, senior ECM consultant, Imaging Office Systems Inc.; Andrew Schumm, director of sales and service, Jack Laurie Group; Shawna Squibb, associate bursar, IPFW; Mary Tonne, controller-finance, General Motors; Chad Tranter, vice president, credit analysis, Wells Fargo Bank; Rebecca Trump, IT director, Lincoln Financial Group; Olivia Warner, president, Indiana Stamp; Matthew Wirtz, deputy director, city utilities engineering, city of Fort Wayne; and Gina Yonkman, administrator, Home Nursing Services.

Heath Thompson and Mike Kelly have joined 80/20 Inc. as saw operators; Adam Craft has been hired in the manufacturing department; Mazen Galab and Sonja Robinson have both been hired in the extrusion processing department; and Jason McMillan has been hired in the truck pack department.

Greg Smitley has been named president/chief executive officer of the Better Business Bureau Serving Northern Indiana.

Randal J. Warner has joined the firm of Terry L. Reckard, CPA, in Huntington.

Debra Frank has been hired at Partners 1st Federal Credit Union as regional sales manager.

Daniel Maringer, Paige Meyer and Stephanie Strang are summer interns for BKD LLP’s Fort Wayne office.

Brian Desharnais of Fort Wayne has been appointed vice president of Commonwealth Engineers Inc. and accepted the role of secretary to serve on its board of directors.

Emily S. Szaferski has joined the law firm of Barrett & McNagny LLP.

Tom and Elizabeth Pentenburg of Fort Wayne have been presented with the 2013 Spherion Owner of the Year Award. The Pentenburgs own two Spherion Staffing Services franchises in Fort Wayne.

Doug Carroll was the top overall loan originator and Michelle Widenhoefer was the top purchase loan originator in May for Legacy Lending Group.