You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Education listings

Chad Hill | Kosciusko County Sheriff’s Department
From left: Zarek Finley, Gabby Monroy, Kosciusko County Sheriff’s Department Capt. Aaron Rovenstine, Jordan Acton.

Phillip Hochstetler Memorial Scholarship winners named

The Kosciusko County Community Foundation recently awarded three Warsaw-area students with Phillip Hochstetler Memorial Scholarships.

The scholarships are in honor of Kosciusko County Sheriff’s Department Detective Sgt. Phil Hochstetler, who was shot and killed in the line of duty on June 29, 1994, while investigating a burglary suspect.

Hochstetler was pursuing a degree in criminal justice at the time of his death, and former Sheriff Aaron Rovenstine began the scholarship program for local students who were also pursuing a career in the criminal justice field.

This year’s recipients are Zarek Finley, Gabby Monroy and Jordan Acton.