You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

High Schools


Meeting for new conference set

– Norwell principal and Northeast Hoosier Conference president Mark Misch confirmed Saturday that a meeting will take place Wednesday at Norwell to discuss the formation of a new athletic conference.

Misch said six current NHC schools – Bellmont, Columbia City, DeKalb, East Noble, Norwell and New Haven – will meet with four other undisclosed schools to discuss joining together in a new conference.

Multiple sources, though, have indicated the four schools will be Leo from the Allen County Athletic Conference, Angola from the North East Corner Conference, Huntington North from the North Central Conference and Concordia from the Summit Athletic Conference.

The four schools will make short presentations about joining the six soon-to-be-former NHC schools in a new league.

The NHC members voted in April to disband in 2015.

There’s no word if a decision will be made Wednesday or sometime in the future.

“We just want to talk with other schools to do what we can to create a conference,” Misch said in a phone interview. “We will talk with the schools and go from there. There’s no real timeline.”

The six NHC schools will then vote on how many schools to accept.

Sources have said there’s a possibility of a 10- or 8-team conference. A 10-team conference would be beneficial in football scheduling with nine regular-season games.

Since 1989, the NHC has been made up of Bellmont, Carroll, Columbia City, DeKalb, East Noble, Homestead, New Haven and Norwell.

But six schools cited a growing disparity in school enrollment with Carroll and Homestead as the primary reason for disbanding the conference to be able to explore the possibility of a new conference.

The changing climate of area conferences has included Garrett leaving the ACAC to rejoin the NECC and Jay County joining the ACAC.

Both of those moves will occur in the 2014-15 school year.