You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Mastodon tracks

  • Men's basketball schedule released
    The 2014-15 IPFW men’s basketball schedule was announced Monday.
  • IPFW soccer loses to Xavier
    Last season was a forgettable one for the IPFW men’s soccer team – it went 1-15-1 – but the Mastodons didn’t look like a one-win team Saturday against Xavier in the Shindigz National Soccer Festival.
  • Women's volleyball picked 2nd in Summit
    The IPFW women’s volleyball was picked to finish second in the Summit League preseason poll of the league’s head coaches. The Mastodons received 53 points. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own teams.

Softball players honored

IPFW junior Ashleigh Bousquet and sophomore Larissa Franklin were named to the Summit League Softball Academic All-League team, as voted on by the schools’ faculty athletics representatives and sports information directors. Bousquet, a native of South Bend, and a psychology major, was named the Summit League Tournament Most Valuable Player, hitting .545 for the championships with five RBI, five runs scored, two home runs and a double. Franklin, a native of Maple Ridge, British Columbia, and a biology major, leads the league with 61 hits.