You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Indiana University


Sweet 16 rematch for IU in Challenge

– The Big Ten/ACC Challenge will feature an NCAA tournament rematch, a home game and a trip that hasn’t been made in more than six decades for Indiana’s college basketball teams.

The conferences and ESPN announced the pairings Wednesday with Indiana traveling to Syracuse, Purdue playing host to Boston College and Notre Dame traveling to Iowa. The games will be played Dec. 3 and 4.

The Hoosiers’ Dec. 3 game against the Orange is a rematch from this year’s Sweet 16, which Indiana lost 61-50 March 28 in Washington, D.C. It will also be IU’s first trip to the Carrier Dome.

The Hoosiers are 1-4 against the Orange with their lone victory coming in the 1987 NCAA tournament championship game. Syracuse has won the last four games against Indiana.

Purdue will stay home this year for the Challenge after defeating Clemson 73-61 on the road last year for its fourth straight victory in the event.

The Boilermakers will play Boston College on Dec. 4. The Boilers have won their previous two games against the Eagles, 82-54 Dec. 28, 1978, and 71-64 Nov. 26, 2008.

Notre Dame, which joins the ACC on July 1 after 18 years in the Big East, will travel to Iowa for the first time since falling to the Hawkeyes 63-60 in 1950.

The Dec. 3 game will also be the first game between the schools since Notre Dame played host to and defeated Iowa 77-68 in 1990. The Irish lead the series against the Hawkeyes 8-5.

The Challenge games, which pit the 12 Big Ten schools against 12 of 15 ACC schools, will be televised on ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU. Game times and networks will be announced at a later date.

The ACC leads the Challenge 10-3-1 after the conferences split last year’s series 6-6.

Other Challenge games are: Michigan at Duke; Florida State at Minnesota; Penn State at Pittsburgh; Illinois at Georgia Tech; North Carolina at Michigan State; Maryland at Ohio State; Miami at Nebraska; Wisconsin at Virginia; and Northwestern at North Carolina State.