You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Business People

  • Business people
    Capt. Geneori Hogan, a 17-year veteran of the Fort Wayne Fire Department, was recently sworn in as district chief of information & technology. Scott Heim joined F.
  • Business people
    Fort Wayne Meijer pharmacist Jeremy Thain was recently honored with the Joseph E. McSoley Pharmacist of the Year award by the Indiana Pharmacists Alliance.
  • Business people
    Tamela Zollinger and Donzionetta Pegues were hired in the maintenance department of 80/20 Inc., and Adam Bridges, James Fisher and Scott Roberts joined the extrusion processing team.

Business people


Annette Bowen of the Certified Restoration Drycleaning Network of Northern Indiana, a division of Peerless Cleaners, received awards at the CRDN convention in Chicago. Bowen’s awards were for the 2012 Sales Professional of the Year – Mid Market Runner Up and the 2012 Sales Per Household by Territory Runner Up for the Fort Wayne territory. Steve Grashoff of CRDN received the Million Dollar Partner Award and the Sales Per Household by Territory Award.

Brian Heflin has been named Wells Fargo’s business banking manager for Indiana/Ohio.

Kurt Carver of Kosciusko REMC has been promoted to manager of operations and engineering.

Building Contractors Association of Northeast Indiana has announced winners of its 2013 Safety Excellence Awards: Mike Baker, Fox Contractors Corp.; Dave Bowman and Steve Christlieb, Brooks Construction Co. Inc.; Mark Farthing, Star Excavating; Gary Gerber, Weigand Construction Co. Inc.; and Josh Shearer, VFP Fire Systems, are Supervisor Safety Award Winners.

Northeast Indiana Bancorp Inc. held its 18th annual shareholders’ meeting April 23. The shareholders selected Stephen E. Zahn and Dan L. Stephan as directors of the company for terms to expire in 2016.

The National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors – Fort Wayne Chapter will hold its banquet May 16 and announce its 2013 Advisor of the Year. The three finalists are Dan Doehrmann, New York Life; Alan New, Lighthouse Wealth Management; and Arlene Stutzman, Arlene Stutzman Agency of American Family Insurance.

The first-quarter winners for the Above & Beyond program at Fort Wayne Newspapers are Lisa Runge for leadership initiative and Maggie Ramos, outstanding performance.

First Defiance Financial Corp. hosted its annual meeting of shareholders April 23. Shareholders re-elected four directors for three-year terms. They are John L. Bookmyer, Stephen L. Boomer, Peter A. Diehl and William J. Small.

Sheila A. Roesler with Northwestern Mutual has qualified for membership in the Million Dollar Roundtable.

Michelle Pugh recently joined 80/20 Inc. as an education/training specialist, and Dan Sherwood has been hired as a video and audio technician.

Ed Neufer of Re/Max Results earned the Executive Club Award for 2012 from Re/Max of Indiana.

Todd Larson, a financial adviser with Ameriprise Financial, has qualified for the company’s 2012 Circle of Success annual recognition program.

The Rev. Brian Crane has joined the staff of Concordia Theological Seminary, and the Rev. Dr. John Reynolds will be an assistant professor of pastoral ministry and missions and director of vicarage.

The Technical Analyst, a publication that brings technical trading ideas to the institutional financial markets, just named “Investing with Volume Analysis” as its Book of the Year. Author Buff Dormeier from Fort Wayne accepted the award at a recent ceremony in London.

1st Source Corp. recently announced the election of Vinod M. Khilnani to its board of directors.

Bryan Pehlke, CPA, has joined Baden, Gage & Schroeder as a staff accountant.

Becca Bell joined Brand Innovation Group as a copywriter.

James Hamilton, partner with the law firm of Bose McKinney & Evans LLP, will present at the Indiana Association of School Business Officials’ 67th annual meeting Wednesday through Friday at Grand Wayne Center in Fort Wayne. Hamilton’s presentation, “IASBO Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act Update,” is May 10.

Teresa Vazquez, an assistant professor at Ivy Tech Community College-Northeast, has been selected to join the statewide eight-member panel of the Indiana Authors Award and will select the top three publicly nominated Indiana authors for 2013.

Matthew Gerber, president/chief operations officer at ENS Group, was selected to join the Veeam Partner Advisory Council to provide key feedback on Veeam products, services and the partner ecosystem.

Curt Irven, vice president, distribution services of Northeastern REMC, has announced his retirement after 43 years. Jim Eitsert will be assuming new responsibilities as vice president, distribution services on May 13.

Mary Didier recently joined Lincoln Printing as a sales representative specializing in printed and variable data direct mail. Tony Gary recently joined Lincoln as a sales representative responsible for serving clients and developing new business beyond the immediate Fort Wayne area.

Current Mechanical has hired Heidi Current as a service dispatcher, Jennifer Kenjorski as a mechanical administrator and Miranda Smith as a receptionist/administrative assistant.

Andrea Robinson Hinsey has been appointed director for the Media Entrepreneurship Training in the Arts program beginning with the fall semester at the University of Saint Francis.

Don Bentz, co-founder of Preferred IT Group LLC of Columbia City, has been appointed as a member of the board of directors for 2013-14 for CompTIA, the nonprofit association for the information technology industry.

John C. Reimbold and Terry L. Anderson with Ameriprise Financial have qualified for the company’s 2012 Circle of Success annual recognition program.

Kim Buhrt, Pam Messmore, Fred Powell and Tony Fleming were re-elected as board members at the 74th Annual Meeting of Kosciusko REMC.

Local resident Jon Rocholl has joined the Indianapolis district office of the Ohio Valley Marketing Center of AXA Advisors LLC. Local resident Frank Shoener, a financial professional with the Ohio Valley Marketing Center of AXA Advisors LLC, has earned the AXA Advisors Hallmark III Award for outstanding sales achievements.