You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • Trine University Thunder expects return to winning way
    From 2008 through 2012, the Trine football program won 45 of 55 games, an average of nine victories a season. And the beat appeared to be continuing last September when the Thunder began 3-1.
  • Manchester University Spartans turn to inexperienced linemen
    The prospect of beginning a season with a new starting quarterback playing behind four first-year starters along the offensive line would be enough to send some head coaches searching for a bottle of TUMS.
  • Ball State
    Coach: Pete Lembo Lembo at Ball State: 25-13 2013 record:

Tech wins WHAC; NAIA event next

Forced into a winner-take-all game after losing to top-seeded Madonna earlier in the day, the Warriors pummeled the same opponent 10-2 in the deciding game Friday to win the Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference baseball tournament for the fourth time in five years in Grand Rapids, Mich.

Tech (31-16) spotted 19th-ranked Madonna (36-9) an early 2-0 lead in the title game, then roared back behind Ignatius Mackenzie’s grand slam in the third inning.

Indiana Tech secured the WHAC’s automatic bid to the NAIA tournament. The brackets will be announced Sunday.

TAYLOR 8, SAINT FRANCIS 6: Taylor ended Saint Francis’ season in one fell swoop, winning on Grant Hendershot’s three-run walk-off home run in the bottom of the ninth in the Crossroads League tourney.

Taylor (33-12) scored seven runs in the last two innings and overcame a three-run ninth for Saint Francis (20-23-1).


TRINE 13, ADRIAN 8: In Angola, the Thunder scored seven runs in the third inning to break open the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Associaton title game and secured a spot in the NCAA Division III region tournament.

Trine (36-3) plays host for a regional, which start May 9.

The bracket will be announced Monday.