You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Indiana University

  • After getting bowled over, Hoosiers focus on defense
      A season that many observers believed could change Indiana football for the better already has a fragile fan base filled with anxiety. Defensive coordinator Brian Knorr has a simple message for the panicked supporters:
  • Luers graduate leads Bowling Green by IU
      In just his second career start, former Bishop Luers standout James Knapke engineered a game-winning drive in the final two minutes, culminating on a 2-yard touchdown pass to Roger Lewis with nine seconds left as Bowling Green upset
  • Knapke: From unwanted, to unknown to star turn
    Throughout high school James Knapke waited patiently for one phone call. It wasn’t from a family member or a girlfriend. No, Knapke wanted to hear the voice of an Indiana coach on the other line offering him a scholarship.

Burke tops IU stars for Big Ten honor

– Indiana’s Victor Oladipo and Cody Zeller lost out to Michigan’s Trey Burke for Big Ten player of the year on both the coaches’ and media’s ballots, but the IU standouts still collected honors as the conference announced its postseason awards Monday.

Oladipo was a unanimous choice by the coaches and media to the All-Big Ten first team, and he was named the defensive player of the year and was a unanimous choice to the all-defensive team.

The junior guard averaged 13.7 points, led the league in field-goal percentage (61.4 percent) and steals (2.2 per game).

Zeller was also on both first teams, but he was only a unanimous choice by the media. The sophomore forward was third in the Big Ten in scoring (16.8 ppg) and second in rebounding (8.1).

Oladipo, Zeller and Burke were joined on the coaches’ first team by Ohio State’s Deshaun Thomas and Michigan’s Tim Hardaway Jr., and on the media poll by Ohio State’s Aaron Craft and Thomas.

Thomas, a junior forward and a former Bishop Luers standout, led the Big Ten in scoring (19.7) and was a unanimous choice by the media for the first team.

Indiana junior forward Will Sheehey was named the Big Ten sixth man of the year, and guard Kevin “Yogi” Ferrell was named to the all-freshman team and was a media honorable mention. Hoosiers senior forward Christian Watford was named to the third team by coaches and media, and senior guard Jordan Hulls was an honorable mention by the coaches and media.

Purdue junior guard Terone Johnson was named to the coaches’ third team and received an honorable mention nod from the media. Boilermakers senior guard D.J. Byrd was a media honorable mention, and center A.J. Hammons was named to the all-freshman team.

Michigan State’s Gary Harris was named freshman of the year by the coaches and media, and Wisconsin’s Bo Ryan was named coach of the year by the coaches and media.