You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Mastodon tracks


IPFW women win in double overtime

Sophomore guard Haley Seibert scored a career-high 33 points to lead IPFW to a 106-101 double-overtime victory over Western Illinois in the opening round of the Summit League tournament Sunday in Sioux Falls, S.D.

Two shots from Stefanie Mauk sent the game into both overtimes. Mauk hit a three-pointer with 3.6 seconds remaining in regulation to tie the game at 84, and then hit a two-pointer in the first overtime to tie the game at 96.

Rachel Mauk dropped two free throws with 26.5 seconds left in the second overtime to give IPFW a 102-101 lead. Seibert then scored on a driving layup to give IPFW a 104-101 lead, then with 10.8 seconds left, hit two free throws for the final margin.

Summit League Player of the Year Amanda Hyde, held to two points in the first half, finished with 19 points and 10 rebounds. Erin Murphy had 20 points, and Rachel Mauk had 19.

IPFW will face top-seeded South Dakota State at 1 p.m. Monday.