You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Business People

  • Business people
    Kathy Callen joined Old National Bank as community engagement executive for its Fort Wayne region.
  • Business people
    Wells Fargo Advisors Financial Network designated Byron Braun, president and fundamental choice portfolio manager of Braun Wealth Management Group LLC, as a member of its Premier Advisors Program.
  • Business people
    Do it Best Corp. hired Travis Adams as a business technical support technician and Bryan Chamberlain, forecasting and logistics planner.

Business people

The following agents have joined Coldwell Banker Roth Wehrly Graber: Sandi Davis Cather, Christina Gilbert, Lisa Bassett, Jerry Moore, Joan Means, Ruth Vosmeier, Chris Chandler, Phillip Anders, Sandra Anders and Tony Kaehr.

Do it Best Corp. has hired Nick Beneke as a retail project leader; Chad Frederickson, facility maintenance; Michael Jones, IT developer; and Randi Martz, order entry clerk. Promotions were given to Gabe Arnold, lumber sales; Nick Barnett, category management planner; Blake Burgette, EDI analyst; and Rhonda Rush, forecasting and logistics planner.

Edward Liptak, Bruce Boxberger, Robert Keen, Rick Samek and Howard Sandler of Carson Boxberger LLP; Thomas P. Yoder, N. Thomas Horton and Cathleen M. Shrader of Barrett & McNagny LLP; and Grant F. Shipley of Shipley & Associates have been selected as 2013 Indiana Super Lawyers.

Cheryl Bremer, chair of Goshen College’s special education department and assistant professor of education, was honored with the title of 2012 Outstanding Professor of the Year. The award was given by the Indiana Council for Exceptional Children.

Cardiologist Mark Jones, with Lutheran Medical Group and co-medical director of Lutheran Hospital’s heart transplant program, is the first in the area to earn certification in advanced heart failure and transplant cardiology through the American Board of Internal Medicine. He is the fourth physician in the state with the designation.

Jeff Hagerman, president of The Hagerman Group, has been appointed to the Indiana State Chamber of Commerce’s board of directors for a three-year term.

CANI announced the addition of five new staff members: Keith Lytton in community services; and Valerie Wenzel, Nichole Hall, Darnesha Neal and Katherine Thomas in Head Start.

Gretchen Crowe has been named the new editor of OSV Newsweekly, the nation’s largest national Catholic weekly newspaper.

Ivy Tech Community College-Northeast announced new hires and promotions. Joanie Clarkson has been hired as an accounting clerk. Scott Wilson has been hired as a corporate college account executive. Angel Jennings has been promoted as a full-time instructor in the school of nursing. And Randy Fry has been promoted as a heating ventilation and air conditioning technician.

Amber Schleinkofer has been hired as an executive recruiter by KB Search Team, a woman-owned recruitment firm in Fort Wayne.

Erin’s House for Grieving Children announced the following new members of its board of directors: Charles Cammack Jr., Fort Wayne Community Schools; Jeff Dysert, PNC; Steve Grill, retired principal, Angola High School; Stan Risser, Parkview Health Systems Inc.; and Melani Wilson, Melani Wilson Designs. Returning board members are Jon Albright, PHP; Tina Bennett, Hallmark Home Mortgage; Steve Brody, Brody Consulting; Lili Carroll, Visiting Nurse and Hospice Home; Tammy Else, Lutheran Children’s Hospital; Kim Grant, Impact Strategies; Jim Houlihan, Houlihan LLP; Paul Jamison, Jamison Meats; Bob Jesch, D.O. McComb & Sons; Karrie Kitch, Lake City Bank; Cathy Krouse, Construction Control; Shelly Meyer, Tower Bank; Tim Miller, Do it Best Corp.; Henry Najdeski, Barrett & McNagny LLP; Eric Norman, IPFW; Mike Nutter, Fort Wayne TinCaps; Edmond O’Neal, Northeast Indiana Regional Workforce Investment Board; Wendy Rowland, Lutheran Hospital; Luke Squires, 1st Source Bank; Jane Wilks, IPFW; and Mike Ziembo, Baden Gage & Schroeder.

The Indiana Debate Commission re-elected Cathleen M. Shrader of Barrett & McNagny LLP to a third term as executive committee chairperson.

Matthew Sparling with Morrison Kattman Menze Inc. has been promoted to senior associate.

The Grace Community Education Department recently appointed John Hendricks as site director at the Miami Correctional Facility.

Linda Finke of Fort Wayne was appointed to The Arc of Indiana board of directors.

Century 21 Bradley Inc. announced its top producers at an awards banquet Feb. 25. Penny Byers, Doreen Johnson, Mary Mauger, Pam Miller and Teresa Smith won the 2012 Centurion Award, the President’s Team Award and the Quality Service Pinnacle Producer Award for client satisfaction.

Judi Loomis was hired as the marketing and resource development director for The League for the Blind & Disabled.

Tammy Toscos, an assistant professor of health informatics at IPFW, was recently honored at iConference 2013, the annual meeting for iSchools, a national organization whose mission is to advance the information field, with the iSchools Doctoral Dissertation Award. Her dissertation, “Digital Vigilance: Pervasive Technology for Children with Type 1 Diabetes,” investigates how to design technologies to help children with Type 1 diabetes transition from parent-care to self-care.

Christopher P. Moore of Moore & Associates recently attended the Barron’s Top Independent Advisers Summit in Orlando, Fla.

Chuck Harris, an Edward Jones financial adviser in Huntington, celebrated 25 years with the company.