You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • No. 18 Ole Miss pulls away from Boise State 35-13
    ATLANTA – Bo Wallace threw four touchdowns passes in a sloppy season opener, and No. 18 Mississippi pulled away in the fourth quarter to beat Boise State 35-13 on Thursday night.
  • Kenny Football: Hill surpasses Manziel's mark
    COLUMBIA, S.C. – Kenny Hill broke Johnny Manziel’s single-game passing record with 511 yards and No. 21 Texas A&M beat No.
  • Trojan admits rescue a lie
    Southern California cornerback Josh Shaw confessed that he lied to school officials about how he sprained his ankles last weekend, retracting his story about jumping off a balcony to save his drowning nephew.

7 state players on College Hall ballot

Antwaan Randle El of Indiana, Dave Butz of Purdue and Raghib Ismail of Notre Dame are among seven players from state universities on the 2013 College Football Hall of Fame's ballot.

Three Notre Dame players and two each from IU and Purdue were named to the hall's Football Bowl Subdivision ballot, the National Football Foundation said in a statement.

Bob Crable and Aaron Taylor of Notre Dame, Larry Burton of Purdue and Tom Nowatzke of Indiana also are on the 77-player ballot.

Randle El, a quarterback, passed for more than 6,000 yards and rushed for more than 3,000 yards for the Hoosiers. Nowatzke, a fullback, led the Big Ten in rushing in 1963.

Butz, a defensive tackle was a finalist for the Lombardi Award in 1972. Burton, a split end, was named Outstanding College Athlete of America in 1974.

Ismail, a wide receiver, was Heisman Trophy runner-up in 1990. Crable, a linebacker, set school records for career tackles, most tackles in a season and most tackles in a game. Taylor, an offensive tackle, was the 1993 Lombardi Award winner.

More than 12,000 foundation members and current Hall of Famers are eligible to cast votes. The foundation's Honors Court deliberates and selects the class, which is announced May 7 and inducted at a dinner Dec. 10.