You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • Guidelight
    Church celebration Broadway Christian Church, 910 Broadway, will observe its 40th anniversary with a church picnic today followed by a celebration service at 10 a.m. Sunday.
  • people and places
    Giving back• Local 232 of the Indiana/Kentucky/Ohio Regional Council of Carpenters volunteered during the annual United Way of Allen County Day of Caring.
  • marriage licenses
    Godfrey Blaine Sensibaugh and Kelsey Ruth CottrellNathan Alexander Ochoa and Michelle Lynn DecampMartin J. Graber and Lucinda M.

People and Places

Giving back

•St. Joseph-St. Elizabeth School students raised $327 for the Street Reach for the Homeless and Project Warmth, which buys blankets, hats, gloves and scarves for the homeless in Fort Wayne. The students raised money by paying $1 to wear a favorite hat.

API Alliance Inc. in Fort Wayne is helping with recycling efforts by collecting paper and recyclable materials to donate to Huntertown Elementary’s efforts to raise money for its school through the Paper Gator recycling program.

Volunteers needed

Camp Red Cedar is seeking volunteers to work with students at its facility. For more information on becoming a volunteer, visit or email

Nominations sought

The Greater Fort Wayne Chamber of Commerce, in conjunction with the Athena International Award Committee, is seeking nominations for the Athena Scholarship for young women graduating this year. Deadline for application is Feb. 28. To apply, go to

Board members

Parkview Foundation has announced the appointment of Jane Jorgensen to its board of directors.

•The Boys & Girls Clubs of Fort Wayne has announced the following new members to its board of directors: Aaron Brown, Shaun Davis, Jill Ostrem and Robert G. Westfall.

•The Fort Wayne Zoological Society has elected the following members to its board of directors: Tim Ash, Eric Ottinger, Dr. Steve Schimmele and Ron Turpin.