You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Business People

  • Business people
    Kathy Callen joined Old National Bank as community engagement executive for its Fort Wayne region.
  • Business people
    Wells Fargo Advisors Financial Network designated Byron Braun, president and fundamental choice portfolio manager of Braun Wealth Management Group LLC, as a member of its Premier Advisors Program.
  • Business people
    Do it Best Corp. hired Travis Adams as a business technical support technician and Bryan Chamberlain, forecasting and logistics planner.

Business people

Legacy Lending Group in Fort Wayne announced that Michelle Widenhoefer, Nick Meeks, Troy Sandlin, Amy Haenner, Alan Ditaway, Kari Peters, Marilyn Butts, Doug Carroll, Julie Carroll, Scott Collins, Ryan Goldacker and Lana Ernie completed SAFE ACT Mortgage Licensing continuing education requirements for 2012.

Four community members joined the Boys & Girls Clubs of Fort Wayne board of directors for the coming year. New directors Aaron Brown, co-founder, Impact 52; Shaun Davis, sales manager, Novae Corp.; Jill Ostrem, chief operating officer, Parkview Physicians Group; and Robert G. Westfall, attorney, Barrett & McNagny LLP will begin their tenures this month.

Jim Saxton with Bruce Ewing Landscaping has been selected as the recipient of the Nursery and Landscape Achievement Award.

Emily Hay has been hired as a part-time marketing associate at the Noble County Economic Development Corp.

Fort Wayne native Niki Schmutte, LaPorte County Parks chief naturalist, was the recipient of the top state award from the Indiana Park and Recreation Association.

Edward C. Weber, D.O., and Joel A. Vilensky, faculty members at Indiana University School of Medicine-Fort Wayne, have co-authored a textbook along with Alysa Fog, published by F.A. Davis Co.

Indiana Manufacturers Association announced the election of its new executive committee for 2013. Board of director members from the area are Rich Borror, Biomet Inc., Warsaw; Marc Lewis, Indiana Michigan Power, Fort Wayne; and Scott Pflughoeft, Ashley Industrial Molding Inc., Ashley.

Kelly Maahs has joined the Embassy Theatre as patron services front-of-house manager.

Philip Perri has been hired as a job coach at Goodwill Industries of Northeast Indiana Inc.

Breana Barnard, a Leo High School senior, has been selected to intern at the Indiana Data Center in Fort Wayne. Lonnie Niccum has been hired as a customer care representative.

Gina Anderdson of Leo has become an independent consultant with Tastefully Simple Inc.

Ashley Cain, Matthew Stonitsch and Tyesha Miles are the 2013 winter interns for Thomas P. Cottrell, BKD LLP.

Lisa Saxe, DPT, has moved to partner in the practice of Mallers & Swoverland Orthopaedic Physical Therapy LLC.

Alan Tio, Whitley County EDC, was elected president by the board of directors of the Indiana Economic Development Association.

Tawasi Chapter of the International Association of Administrative Professionals has appointed Terry Stevens, CAP-OM, to the chapter’s board of directors. Stevens is employed as the administrative coordinator at the Foellinger Foundation.

Rod Coleman and Seth Whicker of SYM Financial have been named to Medical Economics’ 2012 list of Best Financial Advisers for Doctors.

Tim Carey and C. Marc Tjaden, volunteer promoters, will represent the Kruse Automotive and Carriage Museum, located inside the National Military History Center, at the Carl Casper’s Custom Auto Show, to be held Feb. 22-24 in Louisville, Ky.

Nick Staker of Academy Mortgage made the Academy Mortgage Top Producers Club for 2012 based on purchase volume.

John Sampson, president and chief executive officer of the Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership, spoke at the International Economic Development Council’s 2013 Leadership Summit, Jan. 27-29 in Orlando, Fla.

Dawn Mabry, MSN, RN, CNE, University of Saint Francis assistant professor and School of Health Sciences simulation lab director, has earned Certified Healthcare Simulation Educator designation.

Sara Todoran Burns and John Sullivan were the No. 1 team at Re/Max Results for 2012.

The Volunteer Lawyer Program of Northeast Indiana announced that 24 area attorneys donated 50 or more hours of legal assistance in 2012. Attorneys reaching this benchmark in Allen County are Cynthia Amber, R. David Boyer II, Mark Chambers, Linda Chrzan, Yvette Gaff Kleven, Damian Gosheff, Sherry Hartzler, Alan Hofer, Nick Hursh, Denver Jordan, Roy Kiplinger, Holly Ripke, Grant Shipley, Yvonne Spiller, Thomas Stucky, Timothy Stucky, Brian T’Kindt, Joshua Tourkow, David Van Gilder, Alan VerPlanck and Kenneth Yahne. Other attorneys achieving this goal are Mathew Roth, Huntington County; William Bryan, Steuben County; and Elizabeth Deckard, Whitley County.

Jane Jorgensen has joined the board of directors of the Parkview Foundation.

Lorie Richardson, LPN, of Fort Wayne has been promoted from senior healthcare consultant to director, account management, for Hayes Management Consulting, based in Boston.