You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

The Scoop

  • Motorcyclist killed Tuesday identified
    The following statement was issued Wednesday morning by the Allen County Coroner's Office: The motorcyclist who was pronounced dead at the scene of a crash yesterday afternoon just before 1:00 p. m. at East State Boulevard and Bolton Avenue has been
  • Allen County Fair 4-H results
    We have results from the Allen County Fair's 4-H contests.
  • Verbatim: Allen County Fair 2014 winners list
    2014 Allen County Fair Winners–4-H Meat Goat Show Junior Doe Champion 0-3 MonthsMicah HockemeyerHoaglandJunior Doe Champion 3-6 months

22 to receive Light of Learning Award

Statement as issued Friday by the Diocese of Fort Wayne-South Bend

FORT WAYNE – On Monday January 28th, 2013, the annual Luncheon in Celebration of Excellence in Catholic Education sponsored by Quality Dining Inc. will take place at 11:30 AM at the Marriott Hotel (Washington Ctr. Rd) in the Marquis Ballroom. The event, held in conjunction with National Catholic Schools Week, will be attended by approximately 330 people including pastors, clergy, school administrators and community leaders. The luncheon centers upon the theme of Catholic Schools Week 2013: Catholic Schools – Raise the Standards. Catholic Schools Week runs from January 27th to February 2nd, 2013.

Most Reverend Kevin C. Rhoades, Bishop of the Fort Wayne – South Bend Diocese will be the keynote speaker.

This year’s Light of Learning Award Recipients for the greater Fort Wayne area:

Jacob Bloom – Most Precious Blood

Kurtis Homan – Queen of (Angels)

Martha Berghoff – St Charles Borromeo

Holly Shonholz – St. John the Baptist

Leslye Yarde – St. Joseph – St. Elizabeth

Robert Spychalski – St. Jude

Angela Runion – St. Therese

Erin Rahrig – St. Vincent DePaul

Priscilla Harless – St. Aloysius, Yoder

Alice Rumschlag – St. John the Baptist New Haven

Brett Rupright – St. Joseph, Hessen Cassel

Joan Bultemeier – St. Joseph, Monroeville

Sarah Carvey – St. Louis Academy, Besancon

Mary Yoder – St. Mary, Avilla

Beth Novy – St. Joseph, Garrett

Jessica Faurote – St. Joseph, Decatur

Michelle Kindle – Huntington Catholic

Michelle Story – St. Bernard, Wabash

Patricia Faroh – Sacred Heart, Warsaw

Carrie Bleeke - Bishop Dwenger

Alicia Hostetler – Bishop Luers

Mr. Chuck Grimm (St. Therese, Waynedale) is this year’s Light of Learning administrative recipient.

In addition, Bishop Rhoades will present The Monsignor J. William Lester Award to Dr. and Mrs. (posthumous) Mike Mastrangelo. The award honors Msgr. Lester’s spirit and legacy to the Catholic schools in the diocese.

Send items for The Scoop to