You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • Firefighters rescue 1 from mobile home
    A fire at a mobile home Wed­nesday sent one person to the hospital. Fort Wayne firefighters were called to the home at 5716 Kelso Lane just before 1:30 p.m.
  • ACLU panel backs marriage equality
    Marriage equality – the right for homosexual and heterosexual couples to marry – not only makes good legal sense, but it’s good for Indiana business, one panelist said during a forum Wednesday.
  • City joins Obama's initiative for youth
    The city of Fort Wayne is officially a “My Brother’s Keeper” community.

MLK holiday closings

Today is the Martin Luther King Jr. Day holiday. In observance, some governmental offices in northeast Indiana will be closed. Following is a list of closings and exceptions for today:

U.S. District and federal bankruptcy courts.

There will be no mail delivery and post offices will be closed.

State offices, including Bureau of Motor Vehicle branches.

Trash collection by National Serv-All and Waste Management will not be affected.

Adams County offices. Municipal offices in Decatur, Berne and Geneva will be open.

Allen County offices and municipal offices in Fort Wayne and New Haven. Municipal offices in Huntertown, Leo-Cedarville, Grabill and Woodburn will be open.

DeKalb County offices. Municipal offices in Ashley, Auburn, Butler, Garrett and Waterloo will be open.

Huntington County offices and municipal offices in Andrews. Municipal offices in Huntington, Warren and Markle will be open.

Kosciusko County offices and municipal offices in North Webster, Syracuse and Silver Lake will be open. Municipal offices in Pierceton, Warsaw and Winona Lake will be closed. Trash collection by the Warsaw Street Department will be delayed one day.

Noble County offices. Municipal offices in Albion, Avilla, Cromwell, Kendallville, Ligonier and Rome City will be open.

Steuben County offices and municipal offices in Angola, Fremont, Hamilton and Orland.

Wells County offices. Municipal offices in Bluffton and Ossian will be open.

Whitley County offices and municipal offices in Columbia City. Municipal offices in Churubusco and South Whitley will be open.