You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.





American League

BOSTON RED SOX – Agreed to terms with Jarrod Saltalamacchia on a one-year contract.

TEXAS RANGERS – Agreed to terms with LHP Matt Harrison on a five-year contract.

TORONTO BLUE JAYS – Assigned LHP Tommy Hottovy outright to Buffalo (IL).

National League

MILWAUKEE BREWERS – Agreed to terms with OF Carlos Gomez on a one-year contract.

SAN DIEGO PADRES – Agreed to terms with OF Wil Venable on a one-year contract.

WASHINGTON NATIONALS – Agreed to terms with RHP Rafael Soriano on a two-year contract.



DALLAS MAVERICKS – Signed G Mike James to a second 10-day contract.

MIAMI HEAT – Recalled C Dexter Pittman from Sioux Falls (NBADL).

PHILADELPHIA 76ERS – Signed G Shelvin Mack to a 10-day contract.



CHICAGO BEARS – Announced defensive coordinator Rod Marinelli will not return next season.

CLEVELAND BROWNS – Named Norv Turner offensive coordinator, Brad Roll strength and conditioning coach, Mike Sullivan offensive line coach and Scott Turner wide receivers coach.

INDIANAPOLIS COLTS – Named Tom McMahon special teams coordinator.

JACKSONVILLE JAGUARS – Named Gus Bradley coach.

NEW ENGLAND PATRIOTS – Placed TE Rob Gronkowski on injured reserve.

SEATTLE SEAHAWKS – Named Dan Quinn defensive coordinator.



ANAHEIM DUCKS – Assigned F Troy Bodie, F Jay Rosehill and D Ryan Parent to Norfolk (AHL).

CAROLINA HURRICANES – Assigned F Andreas Nodl and F Brett Sutter to Charlotte (AHL).

CHICAGO BLACKHAWKS – Assigned F Jimmy Hayes, F Brandon Pirri and D Ryan Stanton to Rockford (AHL).

COLUMBUS BLUE JACKETS – Assigned D Tim Erixon to Springfield (AHL).

DALLAS STARS – Named Mike Modano executive adviser.

EDMONTON OILERS – Reassigned G Tyler Bunz from Stockton (ECHL) to Oklahoma City (AHL).

FLORIDA PANTHERS – Reassigned F Quinton Howden, G Jacob Markstrom, F Jon Rheault, D Colby Robak and F Drew Shore to San Antonio (AHL).

MONTREAL CANADIENS – Reassigned F Ian Schultz from Hamilton (AHL) to Utah (ECHL).

NEW JERSEY DEVILS – Reassigned LW Harry Young from Kalamazoo (ECHL) to Albany (AHL).

NEW YORK ISLANDERS – Claimed C Keith Aucoin off waivers from Toronto. Returned C Ryan Strome to Niagara (OHL) and D Griffin Reinhart to Edmonton (WHL).

NEW YORK ISLANDERS – Loaned D Jon Landry to Bridgeport (AHL).

NEW YORK RANGERS – Recalled F Brandon Segal from Connecticut (AHL).

OTTAWA SENATORS – Assigned D Cody Ceci to Owen Sound (OHL). Reassigned F Mike Hoffman to Binghamton (AHL).

TAMPA BAY LIGHTNING – Reassigned F Tyler Johnson and D Mark Barbiero and D Radko Gudas to Syracuse (AHL).


IOC – Stripped Lance Armstrong of his bronze medal in the road cycling time trial at the 2000 Olympics.


FLORIDA – Promoted linebackers coach/special teams coordinator D.J. Durkin to defensive coordinator.

RUTGERS – Named Jimmy Gill assistant director of athletic communications.