You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.






Site: La Quinta, Calif.

Schedule: Today-Sunday.

Courses: PGA West, Arnold Palmer Private Course (6,950 yards, par 72); PGA West, Jack Nicklaus Private Course (6,951 yards, par 72); La Quinta Country Club (7,060 yards, par 72).

Purse: $5.6 million. Winner’s share: $1,008,000.

Television: Golf Channel (Thursday, 3-7 p.m., 7:30-10:30 p.m.; Friday, 3-7 p.m.; Saturday-Sunday, 1-4 a.m., 3-7 p.m.; Monday, 1-4 a.m.).

Last year: Mark Wilson won his fifth tour title, beating Robert Garrigus, John Mallinger and Johnson Wagner by two strokes.

Last week: Russell Henley won the Sony Open in Hawaii to become the first player in 10 years to win in his debut as a PGA Tour rookie. He broke the tournament record with a 24-under 256 total, the second-lowest score for a 72-hole tournament in PGA Tour history.

Notes: Phil Mickelson is making his first start of the year. Henley also is in the field along with FedEx Cup champion Brandt Snedeker, U.S. Open winner Webb Simpson and Japanese star Ryo Ishikawa. ... The tournament, long known as the Bob Hope Classic, was shortened from 90 to 72 holes last year. ... David Duval shot a 59 on the Palmer Course in the final round of his 1999 victory. ... Arnold Palmer won the inaugural event in 1960 and added victories in 1962, `68, `71 and `73. ... Mike Weir has missed 16 consecutive cuts. ... The Farmers Insurance Open is next week in San Diego, followed by the Phoenix Open.

European PGA


Site: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

Schedule: Today-Sunday.

Course: Abu Dhabi Golf Club (7,605 yards, par 72).

Purse: $2.7 million. Winner’s share: $450,000.

Television: Golf Channel (Wednesday, 10:30 p.m.-8 a.m.; Thursday, 10:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m., 11 p.m.-8 a.m.; Friday, 10:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m., 10 p.m.-12:30 a.m.; Saturday-Sunday, 4-8 a.m., 10:30-2:30 a.m., 10 p.m.-12:30 a.m.)