You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Irish Insights

Associated Press
Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o

Notre Dame falls to Alabama

MIAMI GARDENS, Fla. – Alabama continued the Southeastern Conference's championship dominance at the expense of Notre Dame.

The No. 2 Crimson Tide defeated the No. 1 Irish 42-14, denying Notre Dame (12-1) its first title since 1988.

Alabama (13-1) won its second straight and third championship in four years under coach Nick Saban. It is the seventh time in a row the BCS champion has come from the SEC.

The last team that was not in the SEC to win the national title was Texas in 2006.

Brian Kelly was denied joining former Notre Dame coaches joined Frank Leahy, Ara Parseghian, Dan Devine and Lou Holtz to win a title in his third year with the program.

For more on the BCS championship game, read Tuesday's Journal Gazette or return to