You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Irish Insights


Kelly named Eddie Robinson coach of the year

Notre Dame coach Brian Kelly was named the coach of the year for a second time this year.

Kelly was named the Eddie Robinson coach of the year by the Football Writers Association of America on Thursday. Kelly had already been named the Home Depot coach of the year.

Kelly led the No. 1 Irish to their first 12-0 season since 1988, and a spot in the BCS championship game against No. 2 Alabama (12-1) on Jan. 7 in Miami.

Kelly will receive the Robinson award, which is named after the former Grambling State coach, on Jan. 6 in Miami.

"Notre Dame, under Coach Kelly, has returned to national prominence in the college football ranks. This award recognizes that accomplishment for the 2012 season, a season that began with 124 teams vying for an elusive undefeated campaign. Notre Dame was the only bowl-eligible school to accomplish that impressive feat," FWAA president Lenn Robbins said in a news release.

Kelly is the fourth Notre Dame coach to receive the award. Ara Parseghian (1964), Lou Holtz (1988) and Charlie Weis (2005) also won it.

Robinson won a Division I record 408 games at Grambling.