You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Irish Insights

  • Video: Notre Dame-Navy preview
      Journal Gazette Notre Dame beat reporter Chris Goff previews the Irish's game against Navy.
  • Irish S Collinsworth ruled out vs. Navy
    Despite making what coach Brian Kelly described as "good progress," Notre Dame starting safety Austin Collinsworth was ruled out of Saturday night's game against Navy.
  • Robinson sees a little of Spurs in Irish
    SOUTH BEND -- The NBA season kicked off yesterday, and Corey Robinson knows that better than anyone because his father, David Robinson, was a star for one of the league's most successful and esteemed franchises, the San Antonio Spurs.

Irish place four on AP All-America team

Notre Dame placed four players on the Associated Press' All-America teams Tuesday.

Linebacker Manti Te'o was the only Irish player to be named to the AP first team. Tight end Tyler Eifert, a Bishop Dwenger grad, and defensive end Stephon Tuitt were named to the second team, and center Braxston Cave was a third-team selection.

Alabama led the All-America selections, placing four players on the first team and six players making one of the three teams. The No. 1 Irish (12-0) play the No. 2 Crimson Tide (12-1) in the BCS championship game Jan. 7 in Miami.

Alabama's first-team selections were center Barrett Jones, guard Chance Warmack, linebacker C.J. Mosley and cornerback Dee Milliner. Crimson Tide offensive tackle D.J. Fluker was a second-team selection, and quarterback A.J. McCarron was a third-team selection.

Purdue defensive tackle Kawann Short was named to the second team.

Te'o led the Irish with 103 tackles and seven interceptions this season. The senior, who finished second to AP first-team All-America selection quarterback Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M for the Heisman Trophy, set a postseason awards record by collecting seven national awards.

Te'o won the Maxwell Award (top player), Walter Camp player of the year, Bronko Nagurski Trophy (top defensive player), Bednarik Award (top defensive player), Lott IMPACT Trophy (top defensive player), Lombardi Award (top lineman/linebacker) and Butkus Award (top linebacker).

Eifert led Notre Dame with 44 receptions for 624 yards with four touchdowns. He won the Mackey Award as the country's top tight end.

Tuitt led the Irish with 12 sacks and had 42 tackles, and Cave started all 12 games on a line that gave up only 16 sacks and helped Notre Dame average 202.5 rushing yards.

For the complete AP All-America teams, click here.