JG logo

Last updated: December 5, 2012 11:11 a.m.

Kelly named coach of the year

Tony Krausz
The Journal Gazette

The awards keep pouring in for Notre Dame.

Brian Kelly became the first two-time recipient of Home Depot coach of the year award Wednesday, the same day that tight end Tyler Eifert, a Bishop Dwenger graduate, won the school's first John Mackey Award, given to college's most outstanding tight end.

Kelly and Eifert will be presented with their awards during the Home Depot College Football Awards show on ESPNU at 7:30 p.m.Thursday.

Kelly, who won the coaching award in 2009 at Cincinnati, led Notre Dame to a 12-0 record this season and the No. 1 Irish will play No. 2 Alabama (12-1) in the BCS championship game Jan. 7 in Miami.

Kelly's 28 victories in his first three seasons are tied for the most by any Notre Dame coach, and he has led the Irish to at least eight wins in each of the last three years.

Kelly's streak of eight or more wins over three seasons surpasses wins from Lou Holtz, Ara Parseghian, Frank Leahy and Knute Rockne, who combined to win 10 consensus National Championships. Parseghian is also being recognized during the show with the NCFAA contribution to college football award.

Kelly and Eifert join linebacker Manti Te'o in collecting postseason honors.

Te'o, who is a finalist for the Lombardi Award (top lineman) tonight inHouston, has already won the ARA sportsmanship award and the Bronko Nagurski Trophy (best defensive player).

Te'o is also a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, Chuck Bednarik Award (defensive player of the year), Maxwell Award (player of the year) and Lott IMPACT Award.