Here is the game story off the Komets' 2-1 loss to Toledo from Friday night: Click here to read it and watch the video, which is highlighted by terrific goaltending.
For those of you wondering about the penalty shot awarded to Brett Smith, personally, I don't think it should have been one.
But I'm in the minority. It's open to interpretation, to me, because he got an excellent scoring chance off. The question is: Would he have gotten a "more reasonable" scoring chance off?
The photo above has the rules spelling out the criteria for a penalty shot, so you can decide yourself. Think of it this way: Smith got a better scoring chance on the break that caused the penalty shot than he did on the penalty shot itself.
It's an interesting discussion, anyway, though I have heard from multiple referees today saying they believe it was a correct call that was made.
By the way, Swikar Patel has a lot of great photos off the game: Click here.