You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.

Mastodon tracks


Mastodons honored in volleyball

A trio of Mastodons earned individual honors as The Summit League announced its volleyball awards at the annual banquet Thursday in Elmhurst, Ill.

IPFW claimed three of the five individual honors and tied for a league-best three all-league selections. Regular season champion IUPUI earned the final two individual awards to go along with three all-league honorees.

Emily Spencer was named the Player of the Year, Tessa McGill earned Defensive Player of the Year and Megan Steenhuysen collected Setter of the Year.

IUPUI’s Kaitlyn Hickey captured Freshman of the Year honors, while Steve Payne was named Coach of the Year.

Spencer, a two-time Offensive Player of the Week selection, became the first Fort Wayne player to garner the league’s Player of the Year award.

The sophomore outside hitter leads the league’s top offense with 468 kills, averaging 4.25 per set, third-best in the league. She also boasts a league-leading 4.93 points per set, which ranks 21st in the nation, and is tied for fifth in the league with a team-best average of 0.27 service aces per set.

In league play, Spencer averages a league-leading 4.98 points per set and 0.29 service aces per set and is third with 4.29 kills per set.

McGill also earned a first for the Mastodons as she became the first player in program history to garner Defensive Player of the Year honors.

The senior libero leads the league with 688 digs and 6.20 digs per, which ranks fourth in the NCAA.

In league play alone, she holds league-bests of 404 digs and an average of 6.12 digs per set.

She captured a league-high three Defensive Player of the Week awards and ranks second all-time in league history with 2,257 career digs.

McGill posted double-digit digs in all but one match on the season, including a season-best 45 digs, the third-most in a match in league history.

Steenhuysen, a two-time Offensive Player of the Week honoree, captured her second career Setter of the Year award, the fourth player in league history to accomplish this feat.

The senior guided the league’s top offense with a league-best 12.16 assists per set, ranking fifth in the nation.

She ranks fourth all-time in the league with 4,589 career assists.

IPFW and IUPUI tied for a league-high three all-league selections. Spencer, McGill and Steenhuysen made up the Mastodon trio, while Hickey was joined by teammates Moriah Fair and Bethany Fogler. North Dakota State was represented by the duo of Brynn Joki and Megan Lambertson. Rounding out the all-league team were Kansas City’s Emily Lucas, Oakland’s Meghan Bray, South Dakota’s Kendall Kritenbrink and South Dakota State’s Kelli Fiegen.

2012 All-Summit League Volleyball Teams


Meghan Bray, Oakland, Sr., OH

Moriah Fair, IUPUI, Jr., OH

Kelli Fiegen, South Dakota State, Sr., MH

Bethany Fogler, IUPUI, Sr., MH

Kaitlyn Hickey, IUPUI, Fr., OH

Brynn Joki, North Dakota State, Sr., OH

Kendall Kritenbrink, South Dakota, So., OH

Megan Lambertson, North Dakota State, Sr., MH

Emily Lucas, Kansas City, Sr., OH

Tessa McGill, IPFW, Sr., L/DS

Emily Spencer, IPFW, So., OH

Megan Steenhuysen, IPFW, Sr., S

Honorable Mention

Shay Birath, South Dakota State, Sr., L

Samantha Fournier, Western Illinois, So., RS

Emma Hagedorn, Kansas City, Fr., MH

Brittany Holbrook, Oakland, Sr., MH

Alli Kirk, Oakland, Sr., DS

Jessie Manwaring, IPFW, Sr., MH

Freshmen Team

Sydney Dimke, South Dakota, OH

Emma Hagedorn, Kansas City, MH

Kaitlyn Hickey, IUPUI, OH

Sydney Howard, South Dakota State, S

Hailie Ripley, IPFW, MH

Ciara Schultz, Oakland, S

Kelly Wachtel, IUPUI, OH/RS

Player of the Year

Emily Spencer, IPFW

Defensive Player of the Year

Tessa McGill, IPFW

Setter of the Year

Megan Steenhuysen, IPFW

Freshman of the Year

Kaitlyn Hickey, IUPUI

Coach of the Year

Steve Payne, IUPUI