You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


Swikar Patel | The Journal Gazette
The Komets’ Tom Mele, center, sprays champagne as the team celebrates its latest of nine championships.

Decades of Cups

Komets have won 9 titles in the team’s 60 years

File photo
The Komets’ first title came in 1963.
File photo
The Komets beat Des Moines for the IHL title.
File photo
The Komets clinched the ’73 crown on the road.
File photo
The Komets swept three teams to win it all in 1993.
File photo
Komets goalie Tom Lawson took home playoff MVP honors in 2003.
Samuel Hoffman | The Journal Gazette
The Komets’ Justin Hodgman, right, was the 2008 playoff MVP.
File photo
The Komets defeated Muskegon to win it all in 2009.
Cathie Rowand | The Journal Gazette
Komets goalie Nick Boucher is mobbed by teammates after defeating Flint for the title.

– The Komets have won nine playoff championships in their 60-year history, including this year’s the CHL’s Ray Miron Presidents’ Cup.

Here’s a look at the Komets’ championships:


The Komets’ first championship in the IHL came thanks to a 4-1 finals victory over the Minneapolis Millers. “Mr. Komet” Eddie Long paced Fort Wayne in the playoffs with five goals and 20 points in 11 games, and Len Thornson had eight goals and 19 points. Goalie Chuck Adamson played all 81 games in the regular season and playoffs combined.


The Komets averaged 5.3 goals in their 10 playoff games, sweeping Toledo and taking down Des Moines in six games in the IHL finals. Long was coaching. Thornson and John Goodwin had 18 points each. Adamson got his second Turner Cup victory.


The only title the Komets have clinched on the road came in a sweep of the defending-champion Port Huron Wings. The Marc Boileau-coached Komets went 9-1 in the playoffs and were led by goalie Don Atchison. Bob Fitchner and Jim Pearson both had 14 points, and Brian Walker had seven goals.


The “Vagabond Komets” swept their way through Cleveland, Atlanta and regular-season champion San Diego. Goalie Pokey Reddick was the first Komet to receive a playoff MVP trophy, and Igor Chibirev contributed 12 goals and 20 points. Coach Al Sims went on to coach in the NHL after the win.


In captain Colin Chaulk’s first championship, the Komets won their only title in the UHL. The Komets went 11-1 in the playoffs, losing their only game in the Colonial Cup finals to Quad City, and goalie Tom Lawson was the playoff MVP. Dustin Virag had six goals and 18 points, including the overtime Cup-winner.


In the first year of the reformed IHL, the Komets recovered from a 3-1 deficit in the finals to defeat Port Huron. Justin Hodgman, a rookie just out of juniors, scored the triple-overtime Cup-winner and was selected playoff MVP with seven goals and 14 points. Luciano Aquino added six goals and 13 points.


The Komets defeated the Kalamazoo Wings in six games and the Muskegon Lumberjacks in five games to get the Turner Cup again. Normally a defensive star, David Hukalo led the Komets in postseason scoring with eight goals and 14 points and took playoff MVP honors.


The Komets overcame another 3-1 deficit against Port Huron, in the semifinals, before beating Flint in five games for their third straight Turner Cup. P.C. Drouin had five goals and 18 points in the postseason, but Matt Syroczynski took playoff MVP with 11 goals and 16 points.


Mike Vaskivuo was released by Rapid City shortly before the playoffs, then took playoff MVP honors with 10 goals and 24 points in 18 games. The Komets defeated Rapid City in six, Missouri in seven and Wichita in five en route to the Presidents’ Cup. The championship was the fifth for Sims and Chaulk, and the fourth for goalie Nick Boucher.