There was one facet of Game 2 of the Presidents' Cup finals, a 6-3 victory by the Komets over the Wichita Thunder, that perhaps I should have delved into a little bit more.
After some Thunder fans have brought it to my attention, let's look at it more closely.
I'm talking about the Komets' first goal of the game, by Jean-Michel Rizk, which went into the net after the puck had been dislodged by Wichita's Kevin Young.
Click here to see my video of the play, which tied the game at 1. It's at about the 55-second mark.
There are two relevant rules regarding this play.
The first is 78.5, which states a goal should be disallowed "when the net becomes displaced accidentally. The goal frame is considered to be displaced if either or both goal pegs are no longer in their respective holes in the ice, or the net has come completely off one or both pegs, prior to or as the puck enters the goal."
OK, that's fine.
But that rule is missing a big, fat asterisk because of rule 63.6, which reads: "In the event that the goal post is displaced, either deliberately or accidentally, by a defending player, prior to the puck crossing the goal line between the normal position of the goalposts, the Referee may award a goal. In order to award a goal in this situation, the goal post must have been displaced by the actions a defending player, the puck must have been shot (or the player must be in the act of shooting) at the goal prior to the goal post being displaced, and it must be determined that the puck would have entered the net between the normal position of the goal posts."
Now, if you freeze my video at the 56-second mark, you can debate whether or not Rizk had shot before the net went off the moorings. But we're talking a split second and I can forgive the referee for that.
I believe referee Marc-Andre Lavoie's interpretations of the rules were correct. Was there any chance the Komets weren't going to score had the net not been knocked off? No.
I know, I know, how often have you seen a referee allow a goal when the net is off? But how often have you seen the puck go in, with the net off, without an offensive player in the vicinity?
I'm sure this was frustrating for the Thunder, which is down 2-0 in the series. But the first goal of the game, at the 46-second mark, might also have been hit by a high stick. Although, I don't think it was.
The best question of this all is: What was Wichita goalie Adam Russo doing so far out of the net?
- I'm going to be on "Sound Off" before tonight's game, live from Memorial Coliseum. The show will air from 7 to 7:30 p.m. I will be on during the first segment. And there will be some pretty cool guests in the second segment, so don't be late. "Sound Off" will also be on before Game 4, Saturday, 7:30 to 8 p.m. They will have the show on the scoreboard and also on Indiana's NewsCenter. I know they will be taking questions via Twitter: @INCSoundoff. So I expect you to participate.
- Also, I will be on the Wichita radio broadcast. Click here to find that. I think it'll be the first intermission. And you should be able to find it through TuneIn or its app.