You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • Komets gain winning mentality
    Defenseman James Martin wants to bring some of the same things this season – the championship-winning part of his game – but with a little something extra.That would be scoring.
  • K’s forward snaps scoring woes
    Nathan Condon had been frustrated. Through his first four professional games, he'd failed to score on six shots and at least five breakaways, a couple of which he missed the net entirely.
  • Johnny Appleseed Day produces Komets win
      One might say scheduling a game against the Komets on Johnny Appleseed Day is just asking for it. The Indy Fuel asked and did it ever receive.
Samuel Hoffman | The Journal Gazette
Komets forward Lincoln Kaleigh Schrock, left, battles Port Huron’s Matt Auffrey near the Icehawks’ net in the semis.

Hard-earned title

Komets didn’t cruise to crown

Samuel Hoffman | The Journal Gazette
Flint’s Ben Boudreau stays in front of the Komets’ Justin Chwedoruk during Game 5 of the IHL finals.
Cathie Rowand | The Journal Gazette
The Komets rush off the bench to celebrate their third straight Turner Cup championship.
Hollyn Johnson |The Flint Journal
Komets forward Justin Hodgman, left, battles Flint’s Craig Cescon during Game 4 of the Turner Cup Finals in Flint, Mich.
Hollyn Johnson | The Flint Journal
Komets fans turned up by the hundreds for Game 4 in Flint to cheer on their team in the finals against the Generals.

The Komets captured a third straight Turner Cup championship, an unprecedented feat in the franchise’s 58-year history.

But it didn’t come easy.

In the semifinals against the rival Port Huron Icehawks, the Komets fell behind 3-1 in the best-of-seven series, and they even trailed by two goals early in Game 5 before rattling off seven victories over the final eight games.

That included a 4-0 Game 7 victory, in which Nick Boucher had a 33-save shutout.

The Komets’ playoff run culminated with a 3-2 victory and a five-game series victory over the Flint Generals, in front of 10,480 fans at Memorial Coliseum, for Fort Wayne’s eighth championship.

Left wing Matt Syroczynski was selected as Playoff MVP after scoring 11 goals and 16points in 12 playoff games. The Komets were keyed by their superb power play, which scored on 15 of 53 opportunities. Their defense allowed only 2.67 goals per game.

For the core group of six veterans who have led the Komets on this incredible run – Colin Chaulk, P.C. Drouin, Guy Dupuis, Kevin Bertram, David Hukalo and Nick Boucher – this could be the last go-round, as it’s unclear whether the IHL will be around next season.