You choose, we deliver
If you are interested in this story, you might be interested in others from The Journal Gazette. Go to and pick the subjects you care most about. We'll deliver your customized daily news report at 3 a.m. Fort Wayne time, right to your email.


  • Komets bring back 2 more holdovers
    Komets general manager David Franke said Monday the offseason was just heating up after the team re-signed forwards Kaleigh Schrock and Mike Embach.Well … flame on, then.
  • Captain coming back for Komets
    It’s hard to argue with Komets general manager David Franke when he says team captain Kaleigh Schrock, at the hardly ripe age of 29, is still a good stretch of the legs away from his rocking chair days.
  • Ks part of shift by ECHL
    Komets fans enjoy going to road games and a good rivalry.
Samuel Hoffman | The Journal Gazette
Ryan Severson , left, Michel Massie and Kevin Kotyluk celebrate the Komets’ 2003 title win.

Kings of the ice

1963: Komets 4, Minneapolis 1: The Komets’ first championship came thanks to some of the franchise’s all-time greats – forwards Len Thornson and “Mr. Komet” Eddie Long, plus goaltender Chuck Adamson.

1965: Komets 4, Des Moines 2: A 7-5 victory at Memorial Coliseum clinched the Komets’ second Cup. Adamson’s status as maybe the franchise’s best goalie was cemented. John Goodwin had 18 points in 10 playoff games.

1973: Komets 4, Port Huron 0: Robbie Irons and Don Atchison were a potent goaltending combination that season, although Atchison got the playoff duties. The Komets allowed only eight goals in the finals. Bob Fitchner and Jim Pearson each tallied 14 points in the playoffs.

1993: Komets 4, San Diego 0: The Vagabond Komets, a collection of players seemingly no one else wanted, used the savvy of Colin Chin, the scoring of Igor Chibirev and Jean-Marc Richard, and the goaltending of Pokey Reddick to win it all. They were 12-0 in the playoffs.

2003: Komets 4, Quad City 1: The Komets’ only championship in the United Hockey League was paced by savvy forwards Colin Chaulk, Bobby Stewart and Dustin Virag, stingy defense and the hot goaltending of Tom Lawson.

2008: Komets 4, Port Huron 3: It took a comeback from a 3-1 deficit in the finals for the Komets to pull this one off. The 3-2 triple-overtime Game 7 victory, finalized with Justin Hodgman’s goal, is arguably the greatest game in team history.

2009: Komets 4, Muskegon 1: The first back-to-back Cup wins in franchise history were paced by the terrific play of David Hukalo, at both ends of the ice, and he got Playoff MVP honors because of it.

2010: Komets 4, Flint 1: After skirting by Port Huron in a seven-game semifinal, the Komets rode the goal-scoring of MVP Matt Syroczynski – 11 in 12 games – to a victory over the Generals and a three-peat, something only one other team in IHL history has accomplished. Coach Al Sims won his fourth Cup with Fort Wayne.