Skip to main content

The Journal Gazette

About us

The Journal Gazette's print editions are published every day of the week.

600 W. Main St.

Fort Wayne, IN 46802

To contact us

Online: journalgazette.net

Main newsroom email: jgnews@jg.net

Main newsroom phone number: 260-461-8773

24/7 news tip line: 260-466-NEWS (6397)

Main newsroom fax number: 260-461-8648

To reach a specific department or person in the newsroom or get information on how to submit a news, feature, sports item or a letter to the editor, please see In the Newsroom below.

Subscriber services

For information on subscriber services, including delivery, please click here --

http://fwn-egen2.fortwayne.com/fwngeneral/services/

In the Newsroom

Julie Inskeep, publisher, 260-461-8490, jinskeep@jg.net

Sherry Skufca, editor, 260-461-8201, sskufca@jg.net

Jim Touvell, managing editor, 260-461-8629, jtouvell@jg.net

Karen Francisco, editorial page editor, 260-461-8206, kfrancisco@jg.net

Delivery problems, questions, 260-461-8519 or 1-800-324-0505

Quick notes

• If you don't know which department in the newspaper would most likely handle your story idea, we can help. The general newsroom number is 260-461-8773, the general fax number is 260-461-8648 and the general newsroom email address is jgnews@jg.net. You can also call the 24/7 news tip line at 260-466-6397.

• If you want to complain about accuracy, coverage, or lack of it, you may contact the editor, Sherry Skufca, 260-461-8201. Or, you may contact the managing editor, Jim Touvell, at 260-461-8629.

• The Journal Gazette is in the 260 area code. All extensions at the newspaper are four digits, beginning with an "8."

If you want to go directly to voice mail and know the last four numbers of a reporter or editor's number, you can also call the voice mail system at 260-461-8570. When prompted to enter an extension number, that is the four-digit number (beginning with "8.")

Metro news department

The Metro staff handles all news that happens in our circulation area not covered by the sports, business or feature staffs.

The reporters in the department write city government, police, court, county government, schools and other related stories. If it is a story that is happening as you speak, this is the department to call.

  • Lisa Green, assistant managing editor for local news, 260-461-8200 or lisagreen@jg.net.
  • Jim Chapman, assistant metro editor/day city editor, 260-461-8366 or jchapman@jg.net.
  • Ron Shawgo, assistant metro editor/enterprise, 260-461-8312 or rshawgo@jg.net.
  • Jessica Garvin, night city editor, 260-461-8364 or jgarvin@jg.net.
  • Jamie Duffy, police/crime, 260-461-8816 or jduffy@jg.net.
  • Dave Gong, city and county government, 260-461-8281 or dgong@jg.net.
  • Niki Kelly, Indiana legislature, 317-686-0901 or nkelly@jg.net.
  • Rosa Salter, housing, development and religion, 260-461-8553 or rsalter@jg.net.
  • Sherry Slater, business and health care, 260-461-8462 or sslater@jg.net.
  • Ashley Sloboda, education, 260-461-8207 or asloboda@jg.net.

News releases may also be sent to jgnews@jg.net.

Sports

The Sports staff covers sports news from area high schools, local colleges, Indiana and Purdue universities, the University of Notre Dame, and professional sports, including the Fort Wayne Komets, the Fort Wayne TinCaps and the Fort Wayne Mad Ants. Coaching changes, athlete signings, sports features and schedules all are under this department.

For most stories and general questions, contact the sports editor, Mark Jaworski, at 260-461-8260 or mjaworski@jg.net.

For high school news, contact Greg Jones, the assistant sports editor, at 260-461-8224 or gjones@jg.net.

To submit sports scores, email jgsports@jg.net or fax 260-461-8648.

Perspective, Opinion, letters to the editor

Our editorial page staff is responsible for the daily Perspective and Opinion pages, including letters to the editor and guest columns. The staff also produces the Sunday Books pages.

If you have an idea for an editorial or feedback about published editorials, contact Karen Francisco, editorial page editor, 260-461-8206 or kfrancisco@jg.net. Francisco is also the contact if you want to submit a letter to the editor or a guest column, or have questions about published letters and columns. She also is responsible for the Books pages.

Business

The Business staff provides news coverage about the economy, health and manufacturing industries, labor, retail, banking and agriculture.

If you want to report news about promotions, awards, seminars and new businesses -- all of which appear in Sunday's Business section -- the information must be submitted by 1 p.m. the Tuesday before desired publication. News releases should be emailed to lisagreen@jg.net or faxed to 260-461-8893, Attn: Business News.

If you are including a photo with information for the Business People section on Sunday, it must be attached to an email as a separate JPEG image.

Information may also be mailed to The Journal Gazette - Business News, 600 W. Main St., Fort Wayne, IN 46802. Photographs will not be returned.

If you have questions, contact Lisa Green at 260-461-8200 or lisagreen@jg.net.

Lifestyle, entertainment, faith, food

The Living staff writes stories that are not so time-sensitive and generally are described as feature stories.

Entertainment news, solution-oriented stories, profiles, lifestyle trends and food information are the staples of this department. It is also this department that is responsible for many of the lists the paper publishes, such as entertainment guides. Living is also responsible for the Home section and gardening coverage.

• Terri Richardson, features editor, 260-461-8304 or trich@jg.net.

Washington editor

Brian Francisco

Phone: 260-461-8718

Cell: 260-615-7872

Email: bfrancisco@jg.net

Fax: 260-461-8893

Indianapolis Bureau

Niki Kelly

Phone: 317-686-0901

Email: nkelly@jg.net

Fax: 317-636-1124

Address: 200 W. Washington St., M-8

Indianapolis, IN 46204

Photos, slideshows, photo galleries and videos

The Journal Gazette's photo staff takes local photos and videos for use in the printed newspaper and on journalgazette.net, some of which are organized as photo galleries or slideshows.

For information about the photos or videos in the newspaper or online, contact Visual Editor Cathie Rowand at crowand@jg.net or 260-461-8226.

Photo reprints

260-461-8831

Speakers Bureau

Lisa Green

Phone: 260-461-8200

Email: lisagreen@jg.net

Terri Richardson

Phone: 260-461-8304

Email: trich@jg.net

News services

Sherry Skufca, editor

Phone: 260-461-8201

Email: sskufca@jg.net

Copy desk, design desk

Jim Touvell, managing editor

Phone: 260-461-8629

Email: jtouvell@jg.net

News technologies

Tom Pellegrene Jr., manager

Phone: 260-461-8377

Email: tpellegrene@jg.net

Telecommunications device for the deaf

260-461-8828